brand new video:
       
get all 177 hours of
presentations here.
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic

Family of three + one cat, looking for farm work from Sept '14 to April '15.  RSS feed

 
Kyle Jacobs
Posts: 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
My partner and I are looking for a farm to work on during this upcoming Fall and Winter.

My partner has several years of organic farming experience, in addition to marketing and operations for multiple CSAs. She is currently an Americorps volunteer for the Phoenix Charter School Garden in Roseburg, OR. She also has prior experience as a vet front desk assistant, and has a good way with animals.

I have served two Americorps terms, and have been primarily involved with school gardens, small-scale home gardens, and permacultural experiments. My most recent experiment is a food forest renovation of the Phoenix School Orchard.

We have both taken the Douglas County Master Gardener course, and have done extensive research on different methods of permacultural garden systems, homesteading, food preservation, vegetarian cooking, fermentation, and sprouting foods.

We are both interested in natural building, taking care of animals, growing mushrooms, herbalism, organic farming, permaculturally based farming, ethanol distillation -- and the like.

Our objective is to have a place where we can learn and work through the Fall and Winter. My partner's family is from back east, and mine is on the west coast. It would be great to work on the west coast in the fall and winter, and on the east coast in the spring and summer. It would also be great to develop long term relationships with these farms, so that we could have a sense of stability as we raise our daughter.

We are looking for Camping space, Food, and a stipend of about $400 per month for herself, and myself. I would love to do this work along the south, central coast of CA -- specifically somewhere around Ventura, or Ojai. I am not set on this location, but it is beautiful, and within a train ride to my parents house -- and apart from working and developing farm skills / relationships, it is also a priority for me to visit with my family at some point throughout the time period.

If you would like to talk to me about this, please contact me via email.

jacobs.kw@gmail.com

all offers considered.

Take care.

Kyle Jacobs.

 
I agree. Here's the link: http://stoves2.com
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!