• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies living kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education experiences global resources the cider press projects digital market permies.com all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Nicole Alderman
  • raven ranson
  • Jocelyn Campbell
  • paul wheaton
  • Devaka Cooray
stewards:
  • Burra Maluca
  • Miles Flansburg
  • Julia Winter
garden masters:
  • Dave Burton
  • Anne Miller
  • Greg Martin
gardeners:
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • Mark Tudor
  • Pearl Sutton

Looking for a tribe- 32yo, female seeking people to share my home.  RSS feed

 
Posts: 6
Location: Chelsea, Michigan
  • Likes 2
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Greetings!

I’m looking for likeminded people to share my home and my life with.

First, the living situation: I own a 9 acre farm in South East/Mid- Michigan. It’s a brand new (to me) piece of property with insane amounts of potential.
I have a number of open rooms I would love to fill with amazing housemates who share a passion for creating something beautiful in this world.

Next, who I am:  I’m Bri, a 32 year old free thinking, earth worshiping, lover of all things. I should also add that I am a mother of 2 small humans.  You may ask why I say “people” instead of person, up above, and that is because I am a firm believe in love without boundaries. I wouldn’t call myself polyamorous, but I can tell you after (amicabally) ending a marriage and relationship of 14 years, it has become apparent that no one person can be someone else’s everything.

I’m looking for community, a tribe, people with whom to be vulnerable, intentional, productive, communicative, loving. I want friends who connect on an emotional, intellectual, maybe even spiritual level.
I seek the perfection in imperfection. For me, that comes with knowing we are all responsible for our own actions and reactions.

Off of my farm I am an educated professional with a job at an Art Museum that I love. Part of what I love about my work is the flexibility I have in my schedule to pursue other things that I am passionate about.

Those things include spending as much time outdoors as possible, hiking, camping, swimming in lakes, gardening and just generally being productive.

Perhaps I sound like someone you would enjoy connecting with. Perhaps I sound like someone who you would enjoy being housemates with. Either way, I would love to start a conversation.
6A529264-7198-478C-93E8-2E87E738C63E.jpeg
[Thumbnail for 6A529264-7198-478C-93E8-2E87E738C63E.jpeg]
514365EF-C3DF-41FF-B2B1-2637844897CA.jpeg
[Thumbnail for 514365EF-C3DF-41FF-B2B1-2637844897CA.jpeg]
 
gardener
Posts: 1420
Location: Greater Houston, TX US Hardy:9a Annual Precipitation: 44.78" Wind:13.23mph Temperature:42.5-95F
270
books forest garden greening the desert tiny house transportation urban
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hello!

I am looking for a way to get started doing permaculture, and my issue being a soon-to-graduate college student is that I don't have land to get started doing permaculture. I have spent lots of my free time in the past four to six years reading up, watchign videos, and listenign to podcasts on permaculture, and even taking an online PDC that it is overwhelming how much there is that can be done to make this world a better place, and I am eager to get to work and put permaculture into practice.

Who I Am: I am a 21 year old in college studying biochemistry, outdoors enthusiast, nature-lover, and action-oriented erudite. I love to learn, but I like doing what I have learned about even more. I am openly gay, and I am content being single. After much thought, I am aware of the benefits that cooperative living can provide for people, such as being able to pool resources, alternate tasks, more. Paul Wheaton described it well in his permaculture keynote.

Outside of classes, I currently do Information Technology work and scientific programming. Both of these are good jobs, and I think doing this kind of dry lab work is more up my alley than doing wet lab benchwork. Ideally, I would like to be doing permaculture full-time, but given my current situation, this is not practical. Going to Michigan is a possibility, because they will probably have jobs for IT and scientific programmers.

I am open to meeting new people, and trying to find landowners that need/want gardeners would be awesome for helping me to make my knowledge of permaculture put into practice and make permaculture a reality!

A couple permaculture related designs I have created (done the research for but haven't been able to implement):
Galveston Design for my PDC
I got pretty busy in college and didn't post this project when I wrote it freshmen year, but it is a Sustainable COmmunity Garden Plan that I wrote for my Global Public Health class when i took it.
David_Burton.jpg
[Thumbnail for David_Burton.jpg]
David_Burton
Filename: David_Burton_Sustainable_Community_Garden.pdf
Description: Sustainable Community Garden
File size: 4 megabytes
 
Posts: 3
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
I am looking for a tribe to join, I am 37 years old, single male, dog daddy to 5 month old fern, I am skilled in wood working, handyman skills, out door skills, wanting to live on a farm in a rural setting, will to work on land as much as needed. I am looking for a good tribe to live with, to have adventures with to grow with, I am Scottish, Dutch and half Cherokee Indian on dads side. I am forward, honest kind and understanding I don't judge or label people. I am open to many types of life styles. I am an open book so ask away. currently living in NJ but can move anywhere I am needed/wanted. I M VARY INTERESTED IN GETTING TO KNOW ALL THE INFO ON HOW TO JOIN YOUR TRIBE. NAMES RICHARD HOPPER
IMG_3132.JPG
[Thumbnail for IMG_3132.JPG]
Me
 
Posts: 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Good morning!
I like your post! I have been traveling for around 3 years now and am looking for a spot to slow down at.. I have a skoolie conversion which i could live in but my goal is to sell it asap and travel lighter. My name is james, 32m. I am spiritual, earth lover, simple, resourceful, i only poke smot and smoke cigs~which i need to quit cigs. Im gemini. Im a lefty. I have no job but many talents! I am not looking for anything other than a nice spot with kind people and work opportunities and things of that nature. I like my music, playing the Djembe is nice to pass time. I wish i could sing more. I am healthy for the most part. occasional bronchitis. i do not drink alcohol. Im nonviolent, approachable. I have no pets currently. Im a southern boy and prefer the suburbs or rural areas providing im near water n food. I go to sleep early and prefer mornings. Id rather eat fish than anything. I like kids and hearing them laugh. I have ptsd for loud noises. i like being presentable, one shower a day kinda guy. I dont wear deodorant like most do. Just arm n hammer. Im growing my hair back out. I miss the strength it gave me
I love big dogs, cats, horses. I want a horse one day. I have a dream of a self built cob house. anyway, I hope you find what you are looking for. I wouldnt mind wintering in Michigan, if you have wood to cut that would be great too! Got to stay warm up there! I love that state! Sorry so random im everywhere today!
 
Posts: 10
homestead solar tiny house
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hello Briannon

Your home sounds lovely... have you started a green house, grey water system and so on?
Your Post caught my eye and you and your family sound very nice.
I am s Single White Male who has been attempting to create a nice Intentional Community and having a partner, like you, would be great.
If you are Interested in being friends, you can visit my website then contact me their.
https://altterracommons.wixsite.com/altterracommons
I share lots of great videos their about Community Life, enjoy.

Thanks - Have a great day
Kevin
 
Villains always have antidotes. They're funny that way. Here's an antidote disquised as a tiny ad:
Thread Boost feature
https://permies.com/wiki/61482/Thread-Boost-feature
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!