Win a copy of Compost Teas for the Organic Grower this week in the Composting forum!
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education experiences global resources the cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Nicole Alderman
  • r ranson
  • Anne Miller
  • paul wheaton
  • Joseph Lofthouse
stewards:
  • Mike Jay
  • Jocelyn Campbell
  • Devaka Cooray
garden masters:
  • Steve Thorn
  • Dave Burton
  • Dan Boone
gardeners:
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • Mandy Launchbury-Rainey
  • Mike Barkley

Help us help you

 
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Aloha! My wife and I are currently on our second work trade in Hawaii. What started as a dream to get out of the typical 9-5 has been both a blessing and a curse. The main reason we want to leave Hawaii is the high cost of living. As far as what we are looking for in a work trade:

We want a private living area. Size is not a factor. We lived in a 200 sq. ft. cabin for 6 months. Hot water, clean, and access to power/ internet are important.
Access to income for myself, whether I work a few days a week for pay (in addition to the rent hours) or have a few days off to work elsewhere.
We have a cat, who adopted us, and we would like to continue our journey together.
We both smoke cigarettes currently(gross I know), however we never smoke indoors and always attempt to be away from people when smoking. We are not heavy drinkers, although we are willing to learn.
We want long term, we are in our mid 30s, not young kids or hippies. (Not that there's anything wrong with either)

What I can offer you:
My experiences professionally include landscaping, hardscaping, zeroscaping, portrait and sports photography, machine operating, forklift driving, light construction and maintenance, inventory control, organic farming, irrigation, welding, pruning, delivering, working farm markets. Am taking a beekeeping course next week.
I am flexible, hard working and reliable. I love being outdoors, getting my hands dirty and the feeling of accomplishment after a hard day's work. I am also passionate about cryptocurrency, used to mine, but now just trade.

My wife used to own her own business on etsy selling all natural homemade skin care products. We sold the business before moving, and the cost of shipping has been the main deterrent in starting up again here. Ideally, she would have a limited roll on your property(compared to me).  She prefers quiet and calm.

Our timeline is spring(late March/ April) 2019 to come to the mainland. We would most likely get a car from family in Pa, then drive to you. We are flexible geographically, but would prefer mild winters. Tennessee, Colorado, Oregon are all areas of particular interest to us. Having experienced both positives and negatives so far with work trading, we know what we want and what will work best for us. Strong communication is important to me, having clear and defined expectations on both sides, as well as mutual respect and kindness. Thanks for taking the time to read. Look forward to working with you.

IMG_20180725_080323_155.jpg
[Thumbnail for IMG_20180725_080323_155.jpg]
 
Posts: 119
Location: Zone 4b Ontario, Canada
24
goat medical herbs wood heat homestead
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Brenton!  

Would you consider Central Ontario, Canada, some 12 hours straight north of Pennsylvania?  

Cheers!  K
 
Brenton Kingsbauer
Posts: 2
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hey Kate, I don't think my wife would appreciate that far north. Thank you for the offer though.
 
Posts: 12
Location: Greensburg KY
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hello
I have a 13 acre farm in south central Kentucky and a new but not yet completed house. A couple of cabin/sheds, barn , tractor and small equipment. I have a couple of acres in blueberries, fruit trees, bee hives, no bees. I’m setting the hives up now with swarm lure hoping to catch a swarm this spring.
However everything is totally neglected. I’m a truck driver and away from home most of the time. At this time I am starting a new venture with hauling cars. I’ll be closer to home but still away and not having time to care for home and property.
I’m 56 years old, quiet non smoker. I have six cats. Three of them stay in the house. Three outside and a couple of strays I’ve noticed lately.
And several tropical fish tanks. My refrigerator is full of tree seeds and there are pots of seedlings and cuttings everywhere. A neighbor comes by to check on the cats.
It’s a beautiful place with a spring and stream running in front of the house. Deer and wildlife in aboundance. But I can’t take care of it and earn a living too.
Perhaps we can help each other. There seems to be potential here.
Susan Kay
 
permaculture is largely about replacing oil with people. And one tiny ad:
Got a New Homestead? Here is What You Need to Know to Before You Start a Homestead
https://permies.com/t/97104/Starting-homestead-strong-foundation
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!