Donielle Phillips

+ Follow
since Jun 28, 2013
Apples and Likes
Apples
Total received
0
In last 30 days
0
Total given
0
Likes
Total received
3
Received in last 30 days
0
Total given
1
Given in last 30 days
0
Forums and Threads
Scavenger Hunt
expand First Scavenger Hunt

Recent posts by Donielle Phillips

I'm in Vancouver (temporarily), living with family. Before then I was in SE Portland. Before that, I was in Seattle.
5 years ago
Thanks for the welcome, ladies. I hope to spend more time here after I'm done moving. This site is fascinating.
5 years ago
Thanks for responding, Mindy. Expect a PM soon. I'd at least like to get to know you. PNW bond is always great.
Thanks for the response, Steve! I'll definitely have to come up for a visit soon. Most likely the beginning of August. I'll give you a call soon...
Hi everyone! I'm new to permaculture but have been interested in sustainability and intentional communities for many years. I've lived in the PNW most my life, a majority of that time in Seattle. I'm in Portland now and am loving the energy here. I'm also loving the energy on this site. So amazing to find such a large number of people with shared interests! I'm looking forward to getting to know you all better and hope to make some strong connections.
5 years ago
Hi, Irene. Are you still looking for interns? I'm not too far from you. Here's the bio I posted yesterday. http://www.permies.com/t/26319/WWOOF-organic-farm-volunteers-interns/Cascadian-Woman-Seeks-Internship
Hope to hear from you!
5 years ago
Hi, Ellen. I made my own post about my future possibilities. I'm interested in all options. Give my post a read; maybe we'd be a good fit.
http://www.permies.com/t/26319/WWOOF-organic-farm-volunteers-interns/Cascadian-Woman-Seeks-Internship
5 years ago
Baraka
Bottle Rocket
Whale Rider
Dead Man
Killer Klowns from Outer Space
Delicatessen
Amelie
Kukujiro
The Princess and the Warrior

And, hi! I'm new.
5 years ago
art
I posted this is the WWOOF forum also. But this one seems more appropriate. Sorry if it's an overpost.....

I find myself at a crossroads... the first time in my life my only responsibility is myself and my muppet of a dog. My 6 month lease is up and I've got to move. I can't afford the rent here and have been living hand to mouth, barely surviving. So, I'm packing up my apartment and seeking options. I have a decent job with a good company in Portland, OR. I have great medical benefits and work with amazing people in a locally owned, sustainable grocery store. I have the option to take a 3 month leave of absence, which is one of the best perks this job has to offer. I'm now considering using that perk to further my life skills.

My dream is to live on communal land. But how do I do that with no money and no assets but my own humble skills? Well... I research and seek out similar individuals who have similar interests, then hope for the best. So, here I am. Hi.

I'm in my mid 40s and have spent most my life in the Pacific Northwest. My resume is minimal, unless you count the inhome nurse care I did while raising a special needs child. Many broken bones, many surgeries, many long term hospital stays, many doctors trying to enforce their "care". I was an advocate for my son and know how to stand up for his rights. I have learned patience and can stay focused under extreme pressure. That was my life with my child for almost 20 years. But my son is now an adult and living with his father. I'm not needed for 24/7 care, yet I could be given my son's physical disability.

For many years, I've been interested in sustainable living. I used to obsess about straw bale housing. Now my passion is earthships and eathbag homes. I'd love to combine the two for the perfect sustainable home. As a kid, my family had chickens, ducks, rabbits, dogs, cats, hamsters, lizards, and caged birds. Mom always had a garden and she canned fruits & vegetables & dehydrated many other foods, with her kids at her side helping with whatever they were able. As an adult, I've done a bit of gardening but haven't tackled Mom's other skills. But I'm not afraid to do any of these things.. especially with the right training or books. I hand stitch the strongest patches. I'm also very creative with crafts of other sorts. I'm artistic and have a great eye for detail. I also have many other great ideas on a regular basis. I have some landscaping skills and come equipped with lawn mower, weedeater, and leaf blower. Although, I'm considering selling that equipment because I need the cash. But because I've done landscaping, I know hard work and how good it sometimes feels to be tired and sore. I grew up blue collar and wouldn't have it any other way.

I love music of all kinds but lean toward the slow, heavy stuff. I like blues, roots rock, ambient, old country, punk rock, latin jazz, and funk. I dance when I feel it. I'm spiritual but not religious. I fully believe in energy and try to keep it positive. I meditate, but not as often as I'd like. I'm big on thrifting, reusing, scrapping, and recycling. I haven't had television for 8 months and rather love it. I also love movies... independent films and documentaries are usually what I prefer but can get into over-the-top blockbusters once in a while. I've always been a non-conformist. I'm anti-establishment and trust our government as far as I can throw them. I don't follow mainstream media.

I gave notice to vacate and have til the end of July to do so. After that, I have no idea where I'll end up. But I'm taking my first few steps on my new path and I'm ready for big changes. Please contact me if you have any ideas you want to share with me. Thanks for reading and have a great day.

Donielle
dawnyell.fillups@gmail.com

5 years ago