• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources the cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • r ranson
  • Nicole Alderman
  • Anne Miller
  • Pearl Sutton
  • James Freyr
  • Jocelyn Campbell
stewards:
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • paul wheaton
  • Burra Maluca
garden masters:
  • Steve Thorn
  • Greg Martin
gardeners:
  • Jay Angler
  • Carla Burke
  • thomas rubino

60 year old artist / nature guy seeks conversation and visits with kindred spirited lady

 
Posts: 1
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
About Me:

Hi my name is Boomer. I am an unconventional guy and the view is pretty good from over here. I just returned from China where I spent the last four years teaching studio fine arts, media arts and environmental design; and immediatly before that I spent a few years in South Korea teaching ESL.

Over the past four years I have also had the privilege of spending a lot of my free time developing a small personal retreat and "forest park studio" in the Smokey Mountains of North Carolina. It's going very well and could only be improved by sharing it with others.

At present I am reinvesting myself in the lives of my elderly parents in Fairfax VA. We are living together once again after a fifty year hiatus, are getting on beautifully together and are all grateful for everything that we add to one another's lives.

I am a life long general studio artist (that is my professional area of expertise, even though I make my living as a Task Rabbit handyman), and a guitarist who enjoys jamming in drum circles... I'm also an avid bicycle tourist, an ex yoga instructor (Sivananda Style) and an ex pro tennis teacher.

I am a minimalist who enjoys living simply, in self sufficient ways and close to nature most of all. My dream is to one day develop my forest studio as a retirement workplace and mentoring business (with my future partner hopefully).

Ideal Match…

I love creative and worthwhile, hands-on projects; but I'm not too into a social scenes outside of making raunchy joyous music with kindred others, and occasionally visiting with family. That said, I envision my partner as also an inspired doer whose interests and aptitudes jive with mine well. For instance, since I am committed to fully developing and enjoying my forest-park studio-retreat in the Smokey Mountains my ideal partner will also be a nature lover who is deeply inspired by the experience of spending productive time nurturing nature and sustainable beauty in the forest.

Of course, my ideal partner and I would also be very attracted to one another, and intimately devoted to supporting each other emotionally and in all aspects of our mental health, physical wellbeing, personal growth, good humor and security.

A key understanding that my perfect mate and I will share regards our mutual respect for our independent senses of self. For instance, sloth, dangerous addiction, gluttony, waste, craving wealth and luxury, and conventionalism that borders on ritual behavior are real big turn offs for me. So my ideal partner would be an independent, holistic thinker interested in discussing such things, balancing life's grind with humor, gratitude and passion, and working together in general.


Ideal Date:

Picnics, bike rides and hikes, working out together, volunteering together and teaming up as helpmates on personally meaningful projects at home and elsewhere all seem like real fulfilling date ideas to me. Movies, coffee and drinks, social events and such are lower on the list for me yet somewhat inevitable I reckon. I should point out that dancing for me is always an attractive option... always.

Boom can be contacted at boomerdormody@hotmail.com
 
Posts: 8
Location: 37066
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
I take it from your post that you are located in the Smokey Mountains. Are you open to relocate?

Lisa in Northern middle TN
 
permaculture is giving a gift to your future self. After reading this tiny ad:
All of the video from the Eat Your Dirt Summit
https://permies.com/t/106759/video-Eat-Dirt-Summit
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!