new videos
hot off the press!  
    more about rocket
mass heaters here.

more videos from
the PDC here.
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic

Looking for like-minded Paleo/Ketogenic regime people to house-share in sunny North Cyprus.  RSS feed

 
Liz Ashley
Posts: 2
Location: North Cyprus
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Looking for like-minded Paleo/Ketogenic regime people to house-share in sunny North Cyprus.
The aim is to live off the grid and be totally self sufficient. Also to use Permaculture methods. Seekers of Truth and Objective Reality are especially welcome (i.e. Gurdjieff – The Fourth Way).
An impossible dream? A tall order? Maybe, however it is what I am hoping to achieve. This small experiment in communal self sufficiency is needed now more than ever with the constantly spirally prices and manipulation of our food chain and eco system.
Hopefully, this could lead to a much bigger project in the woods/mountains where I already have purchased land.
I am only looking for 6 people who are committed to making such a change in their lives and who are able to bring relevant skills. You also need to be financially independent for at least six months while you acclimatise to the country and culture here. Also to find a supplementary income should you need one. (I can give such confidential info by p.m.).
I have a large renovated Ottoman house in an agricultural rural village. Esentepe is about 22kms from the main town of Kyrenia, and about 45 minutes from the airport. It has an organic raised garden, a working well for irrigation, solar panels, air conditioning, patios, terraces, bbq and outside sink. There is room for chickens etc. too. There are many farmers here, even our neighbour is a shepherd, and most animals here are grass fed. The aim is to buy our own animals and have the farmers help raise them for us.
There is some maintenance work to be done and an outbuilding to convert once folks have settled in. Plus maybe purchase a second hand vehicle for communal use.
The house is totally furnished and has a huge open lounge, kitchen and dining area with a large refectory table and a large fireplace. There are 3 double bedrooms leading on to a large terrace with panoramic views of the mountains and the sea (beach one mile away).
Projected costs are £200 per person per month (two people sharing a double or twin room). This is to cover rent, bills and general maintenance costs.
If you are interested, please email me with any questions as well as provide me with background information about yourself including how you feel you could proactively contribute as an integral part of the colinear ‘family’.
Please share this opportunity in your network if you know of anyone who would love to join us.
 
Sheldon Nicholson
Posts: 54
Location: Canada
6
books
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Liz,

I am really interested in this. But Ive got some questions:

What timeframe are you looking at; how long till this project starts and how long until it might transition to the larger property you mentioned?

It sounds like this property in cypress doesnt have enough land to raise large animals on, and so the animals would be raised by other farmers, is that correct?

Is the cost of raising these animals for food included in the £200 estimate per month?

You also mention that we would need to be financially independent for 6 months; what happens after that?

How many people are you planning on having in this house?

*I have posted these questions publicly so that other who might be interested can see the answers which might save you having to answer the same questions multiple times.

I really hope this works out for you, even if Im not a part of it. I am finding it very hard to maintain my ketogenic diet when everyone, even my closest friends, do not support me (I have found that finding people who are into permaculture or spirituality is much easier than finding anyone who is into ketosis).
 
Liz Ashley
Posts: 2
Location: North Cyprus
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Sheldon
Thanks for your post.

I am looking for 6 people to share together so I am not sure how long this will take to get everyone together. I currently have a young couple (on keto regime) I know, who are currently in the UK and hope to come out here in September. They have a close relative here that they will stay with until everyone is ready. In the meantime the house will be rented, as a conventional letting, for one year so that I does not remain empty and not cared for.

So realistically the time frame is one year - next April.

Regarding transition to the main project, this will take much longer as it is a huge undertaking and requires all the relevant planning, grants and rental of land around us. I already have the land - which can also be used for our animals (provided the required fences are constructed and adequate security etc). This is why in the meantime I suggested that we form a co-operative with some farmers - this is quite common here.

I foresee the cost of living increasing here as currently an island wide negotiations are taking place which will mean the north will join the EU as did the south - and all that that entails. Though it will also be more promising for us re the grants for the project - it already ticks all the EU requirements boxes.

£200 per month is based on 6 people living together (this makes it more viable, affordable for everyone, and is more akin to community living), and includes bill payments and upkeep/maintenance. However this does not include food/animals etc and the cost of feeding them.

The reason I recommend being financially independent for 6 months is unless you have an alternative source of income you will need to sort out finding a job here. This takes time and involves getting work permits or resident visas. Plus with the different cultures it also takes a while to acclimatize and orient yourself to the country.

I recommend that you also PM me with details of your background and expectations as well as any other info you may feel is relevant, eg how you feel you could uniquely contribute to the whole. Plus any other queries you may have.



 
Cob is sand, clay and sometimes straw. This tiny ad is made of cob:
2017 Rocket Mass Heater Workshop Jamboree - 15 workshops in one event
https://permies.com/wiki/63312/permaculture-projects/Rocket-Mass-Heater-Workshop-Jamboree
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!