• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com pie forums private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Anne Miller
  • Pearl Sutton
  • r ranson
  • Leigh Tate
  • paul wheaton
  • Nicole Alderman
master gardeners:
  • Carla Burke
  • Beau Davidson
  • Jay Angler
  • John F Dean
  • Nancy Reading
  • thomas rubino
  • Casie Becker
  • Mike Barkley

Family seeks intentional community

  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator

Just a little about our family and our goals,

Our Family currently lives in Michigan in a small house in the city. We have been dreaming of living off grid for a few years now. To this end we started raising chickens ducks and rabbits. Yes we are omnivores we love meat and veggies. We love to grow our own food as we believe it is healthier for us to eat and we love showing our children where our food truly comes from and that it takes work to bring it to our table. Our family that would be joining us on our adventure are Me (Antonia 38) my husband (Christopher 30) and our children Carissa 17 who has special needs, Carvell 15, Cortez 6, Carina 4, Courtland 2, and Cathleen 2 months. Sadly our oldest are going to be living apart and doing their own things. We have used both the public school system and homeschooling to educate our children. Our 18 year old twins both have associates degrees and one is 2 semesters away from his bachelor’s degree. We do not actively practice any religion but are not opposed to religion in general. My husband is a Navy veteran where he learned to weld, and fabricate. We are both college educated and have degrees in HVAC. We both have good construction skills and can operate all basic tools. Have basic knowledge of plumbing and electrical. We have never come across a problem we could not fix, if we don’t know how to do something we research it and then just do it. We both love solving problems and constructing solutions. We have built several buildings for our animals. We both have basic computer skills and I have run a few simple websites. I love crafting and baking, and have some basic sewing knowledge.
What we are looking for,
A place where we can live with just the bare essentials. (Still will need to be able to us my cell phone) A place to build a simple home.(ie: small cabin or an earth home) utilizing some type of rain collection system. We want to be able to build a few small structures for our animals and some of our ideas that we have that we can’t try to build in the city limits because off the building code. A place where we can learn from others and others can learn from us. We are open to living anywhere in the United States We have lived in Washington, Oregon, California, Utah and Michigan although would love to end up closer to VT where my parents live.

feel free to email us if you have something like this or you know of someone who does

thanks Antonia
Popeye has his spinach. I have this tiny ad:
177 hours of video: the 2017 Permaculture Design Course and Appropriate Technology Course
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic