brand new video:
       
get all 177 hours of
presentations here.
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic

Growing Together  RSS feed

 
Jonathan Dodd
Posts: 4
Location: Papillion, NE
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
negoods.com

Our 5 acre perennial farm in Papillion, NE has some onsite openings!

We have had a bounty of food and relationships this year at New Earth Farm & Goods. Not only have we had the opportunity to grow our farm, we have had the pleasure of hosting three Keipos interns over the summer. However, as the internship ends August 15, we will have vacant spots to fill on the farm.

If you are interested in living and working on a 5-acre poly-cultured farm we might have the perfect spot for you. We are not looking for just an ordinary farmhand. We are looking for a few people or a couple who want to help our farm to be successful and thrive. We want our farm to become your farm.

What will you be doing?

-Learning and implementing animal systems, tree systems, vegetable, herb and flower systems
-Planting, seeding, weeding, harvesting, weeding, watering, bug squashing, weeding
-Eating amazing food and sitting in the shade of a diverse polyculture of plants, trees, and animals, like a painting come to life
-Preserving, canning, fermenting, making medicines
-Building, fixing, carrying heavy things, using sharp tools, digging holes
-Moving fences, chasing animals, collecting eggs, cleaning poop
-Interacting with our farm family and local community from visitors and market commerce

What does it require?

-The ability to work long hours during the growing season.
-The ability to perform physically straining work.
-The ability to work in community and alone.
-The ability to commit for at least one full year (if you want to live in the camper*). This is perfect for a couple.
-Or the ability to commit for 6 months for the detached loft (the nest**).

What will you receive?

-Food. All the produce and fruit you can eat. Also, if you are a meat eater, all of our meat is grown on-farm.
-Room. Beginning August 15th, we will have two housing options available. One is a camper with AC/heat, water, shower, toilet, and kitchen*. The second is a detached loft with electricity, which we call the nest**.
-A place to learn. We have a great library full of amazing books on food, farming and many other subjects.
-Opportunities. Create your own micro-enterprise businesses on the farm and with our customers. As our customer base grows as we grow, you can develop ways to help meet others’ needs and make a little dough.
-Friendship. Living with others is rewarding and difficult, but connections with others are always made in places of hospitality, food, farming, and learning.

If you are interested, please send your resume and a short write up of why you think this might be a good for you via email to jonathan@negoods.com.
 
Courtney Bibb
Posts: 17
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Everyone,

I would like to introduce myself. My name is Courtney Bibb. I'm 41 and a single mother to a 16 year old daughter. I work full time as a police officer and have been for almost ten years.

I also have guardianship over my two month old grand daughter and I've a fury baby, he weighs about six lbs.

I'm currently attending school online full-time. My career path takes me to new heights as a naturopathic doctor.

The reason I'm wanting to leave a stable and secure job, I'm sure you want to know. I'm ready to get out of the city life and go back to my country roots. I was raised in mobile, Alabama and I miss the country air. I'm ready to explore new opportunity. My job as a police officer places me in obligations that warrant me to make negative changes. I'm constantly reminded of mean and evil people. I'm subjecting to gun violence, child abuse, deadly accidents and police suicide. I'm ready for change. I'm ready for positive changes and new inspiration.

I'm a hard worker. I'm dedicated and a team player. I don't smoke, don't do drugs and rarely do I drink a glass of wine.

I'm also in to yoga and I can teach meditation and nutrition courses.

Also, I'm a vegetarian and I'm educated in non GMO/gluten free diet.
I'm looking for a place that I can work in exchange for housing. I do have a car payment/car insurance that I'm responsible for, however, I will work doing whatever I need to do around the farm, house or errands. Having transportation I feel is a plus. I can commit to 30 hours a week in exchange for housing.

I hope you find my profile of great benefit My email is csa592@yahoo.com and 912-656-8807. I look forward to speaking to you and your family soon. Kind regards.... Courtney
 
And then we all jump out and yell "surprise! we got you this tiny ad!"
FT Position Available: Affiliate Manager Who Loves Permaculture & Homesteading
https://permies.com/t/69742/FT-Position-Affiliate-Manager-Loves
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!