new videos
hot off the press!  
    more about rocket
mass heaters here.

more videos from
the PDC here.
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic

New to Greenville, SC (For the winter)  RSS feed

 
Mikah Holt
Posts: 7
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
]Hello my friends!
My name is Mika and I am originally from Boston, Ma. I am considering changing that after some extensive traveling though. At the moment, I'm traveling around the south for the winter with my partner. We are staying in Greenville until Christmas, my partner has work here. We've been enjoying the weather but I find myself with tons of time to spare since the place I am staying in doesn't have a garden (or even a yard) I love working in gardens, being on farms, etc. I've grown up working hard and enjoy it. I went to an agricultural school and have general working knowledge of how a farm is run. I'm offering my services doing reasonable work for a fairly fit 39 yo woman. I can help in gardens, I'm good with plants and animals. I like being in barns, I don't mind most farm animals and am willing to learn about the ones I don't know. Part of the reason we are in the area for a few months is we are considering purchasing land in the area. I'd like to get a feel for the area's permie community before I make any final decisions. I'm not asking for any payment or to live at your place, I just want to help out. An afternoon in a garden or barn would help me not go stir crazy. I've been walking but it's not enough. I don't smoke or drink and I require no food, I like to work and need some good physical activity in this weather. I'm not used to this in late Oct! I need to be outside. Pease let me help! I'm in the Greenville area and can get a reasonable distance, although since we share a car, it gets interesting. I can usually arrange rides or some sort of transportation though, I'm a very self-sufficient person. I can also help cook, bake, can, and any number of other random things. I am also interested in permaculture design courses or any other classes in organic gardening, homesteading or anything of interest in the area if any could point me in the right direction. Don't have to be free, but I do prefer hands-on learning. Thanks a bunch, please message me here to start a conversation and I'll give you my email and other info.
Mika[/size]
 
John Elliott
pollinator
Posts: 2392
79
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Mika,

As you can see by the lack of responses, Permies are few and far between in Georgia and the Carolinas.  I am in Augusta, GA, and I find that if you want to work on a permie-type project, you're going to have to organize it yourself. (Or engage in some guerilla gardening and find some neglected patch of dirt to tend.) Which is a shame, because we don't have to shut down in the winter as they do further north.  I am in the process of building up my hugels for the winter, piling on more decaying wood chips and planting them with winter vegetables.  Greenville is about a half a climate zone cooler than here, but you should still be able to grow some nice onions, collards, and other brassicas in the winter there.  You could also try some fava beans for harvest around March/April, but I find that they need to be under a row cover for those occasional nights when the temps drop into the teens.
 
I was born with webbed fish toes. This tiny ad is my only friend:
Ernie and Erica Wisner's Rocket Mass Heater Everything Combo
https://permies.com/t/40993/digital-market/digital-market/Ernie-Erica-Wisner-Rocket-Mass
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!