• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies living kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education experiences global resources the cider press projects digital market permies.com all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Nicole Alderman
  • raven ranson
  • Jocelyn Campbell
  • Julia Winter
stewards:
  • paul wheaton
  • Burra Maluca
  • Devaka Cooray
garden masters:
  • Anne Miller
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • Shawn Klassen-Koop
gardeners:
  • Joseph Lofthouse
  • Bill Crim
  • Mike Jay

Tiny Home and shed offered in barter for caring for dairy goats and poultry - Paonia, Colorado  RSS feed

 
Posts: 9
Location: western Colorado
  • Likes 2
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Frugalbundance Farm (homesteading, goats, poultry, garden, natural building, off grid solar, tiny houses, permaculture) is seeking the right person or couple to come live (preferably long term) in a beautiful, professionally built, well insulated, off-grid tiny house on wheels with large storage shed/studio and garden space (if wanted), on a 48 acre parcel of rural land 2 miles from Paonia, Colorado town center.

Use of the fully furnished home and shed are offered in barter for help with milking and walking dairy goats and taking care of poultry the equivalent of two days/week worth of chores.  That comes out to something around 5 to 6 hrs/day for 2 days/week and/or 8 days/month, with some flexibility for when we’d like to go away for more than 2 days at a time.   

We could occasionally offer food (dairy products, eggs, garden veggies) or $ in exchange for additional help with projects, irrigation, putting up hay, etc.

The home is off-grid, so no electric bills, no water or sewer bills.  The occupant would need to provide a small amount of firewood for heating plus propane for cooking, hot water, and backup heat.  Internet service would require getting Rise Broadband wireless service or a cellular data plan. 

The right person would be strongly interested in animals, be willing to treat other species (goats, chickens, turkeys, guineas, etc) with respect and compassion as equals, have an interest in organic agriculture and a simple, self-sufficient lifestyle.  They would also ideally be physically strong and fit, able to lift 70 lbs hay bales, able to learn how to deal with fussy or unpredictable goat behavior, be quiet, gentle, mature, happy, internally motivated, a good communicator, curious and empathetic, reliable, and somewhat flexible time-wise.  We are interested in someone who doesn’t smoke and doesn’t have a dog. 

Perfect situation for a valley organic farm employee who needs housing, artist/musician/writer-farmer, or ?.  Please respond here, or call 970-fourtwotwo-1888, ask for Linc, to hear more about this barter offer, or to give us leads on someone who you think might be interested.  Thank you!
100_1644.JPG
[Thumbnail for 100_1644.JPG]
Tiny house main floor
100_1645.JPG
[Thumbnail for 100_1645.JPG]
Tiny house loft
100_1646.JPG
[Thumbnail for 100_1646.JPG]
Shed/studio interior
 
Posts: 3
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi, my name is Cynthia. My husband Jim and I are retired and looking for an off grid opportunity to help, in exchange for tiny housing. We both are hard workers, having worked on a 100 acre horse ranch a few yrs ago. We do have a 7 yr old Aussie who is well trained and loves people.

My question is:  is this situation still available? We are looking to relocate from No. Az. To Colorado. Possibly in the beginning of Sept.
 
Posts: 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hey my name is Denise. I would love to help out around the farm. I love all animals and would love to care for them.. I haven't worked on a farm but I am motivated to learn. Everything that you've mentioned makes me so happy to think about doing.. this is the dream lifestyle for me.. I also have my 11 month old but he is a doll. Always very content and hardly ever cries. He is very smart and I'll also have a little helper. I'm willing to learn anything from gardening to carpentry, I don't mind.

I truly don't belong in the city.
I also might be homeless soon.
I hope we can set something up.

With much Love, Denise
 
Posts: 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
I will call you today, I live in colorado and would like to talk with you further. My number is 719-221-6183 just so you know I am calling
 
You'll never get away with this you overconfident blob! The most you will ever get is this tiny ad:
Permaculture Playing Cards by Paul Wheaton and Alexander Ojeda
https://permies.com/wiki/57503/Permaculture-Playing-Cards-Paul-Wheaton
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!