Win a copy of Compost Teas for the Organic Grower this week in the Composting forum!
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education experiences global resources the cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Nicole Alderman
  • r ranson
  • Anne Miller
  • paul wheaton
  • Joseph Lofthouse
stewards:
  • Mike Jay
  • Jocelyn Campbell
  • Devaka Cooray
garden masters:
  • Steve Thorn
  • Dave Burton
  • Dan Boone
gardeners:
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • Mandy Launchbury-Rainey
  • Mike Barkley

Moonstone, Ontario: Looking for Farm sitter for July 2018 and March-November 2019

 
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
So I found permaculture love, but unfortunately we are separated by an ocean and we need to figure out which side we want to land on.

Therefore we will be exploring the possibilities on either side and I need somebody to take care of my little homestead just outside Moonstone, Ontario (Simcoe County, 20 minutes to Midland and Orillia, 30 minutes to Barrie) for pretty much the whole 2019 growing season.

I have 25 acres of mostly hardwood bush with a pond on the far side of the property, a vegetable garden, apple tree, pigs (3 sows, 1 boar plus feeder pigs), chickens, ducks, turkeys and geese, but any of the animals can be sold prior to 2019. The house is 1000sqft, 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, there is a barn and various outbuildings.

I imagine this could be a good fit for somebody who doesn't have their own land yet, but wants to get their feet wet and see if the homesteading life is for them. Families are more than welcome!

As for the financial side of it, I was thinking that the people being here would take over all the running costs like utilities, property tax, feed (if applicable) etc, but also get to keep all they have planted and harvested (one of the reasons the staying away for the whole growing season makes sense) and if they choose to, sell piglets/pork and eggs to my small existing customer base. No rent on top of that.
At the end of 2019 will be decision time and as it stands right now, there is a 50% chance we will end up moving to Europe, which would open up the opportunity to take over the property here long term, either through lease, sale or rent to own.

We will also be gone from July 3rd through August 1st this year and I figured this would be a good opportunity to take a sneak peak before committing to spending 9 months here next year. This would be handled more like a regular house sit (we've had house sitters through trustedhousesitters.com before, which worked out quite well.), as in you get to stay here for free in exchange for taking care of the animals and the property, no utility costs and all feed will be provided and of course you are welcome to help yourselves to anything ripe from the garden, eggs, etc. For this July our lovable but crazy and super high energy 1 year old border collie/heeler cross will be staying and needs to be taken care of, as well as the 4 house cats (who might or might not be coming with us in 2019, haven't decided yet.)

If you are interested and would like more information, please PM me and we can start from there!

I'll also post this in the rural forum here on permies, to reach people who don't frequent the Ontario forum.

If I don't have a definite answer for this July from here by end of April, I will be posting an ad on trustedhousesitters.com, just in case.
 
Posts: 3
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hello, I am interested. Could you please pm me more info?
 
Elisabeth Calippe
Posts: 4
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Things have changed and I am actually selling the property now and moving this spring (or earlier, depending on how things work out). Sending you a PM
 
Hey cool! They got a blimp! But I have a tiny ad:
Food Forest Card Game - Game Forum
https://permies.com/t/61704/Food-Forest-Card-Game-Game
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!