Win a copy of The Ethical Meat Handbook this week in the Food Choices forum!
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources the cider press projects digital market private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • r ranson
  • Nicole Alderman
  • Anne Miller
  • Pearl Sutton
  • James Freyr
  • Jocelyn Campbell
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • paul wheaton
  • Burra Maluca
garden masters:
  • Steve Thorn
  • Greg Martin
  • Jay Angler
  • Carla Burke
  • thomas rubino

Ohio Gal seeks her homestead hero. 53 y.o. SWF

Posts: 7
Location: Zanesville, Ohio
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Biography: Hi y'all. Excited to be here! My name is Beth. Full disclosure: I am a single 53 year old gal and am finding that a partner with similar life interests is difficult in my area. I am 5'4" and a lil but curvy (certainly not horrible but I do have a little belly -working on that). I recently tried Chantix to quit smoking and was ALMOST there then... This virus hit and BAM stupid me increased back a little. Not a whole pack a day or anything but kinda disappointed with myself in that respect. Not a drinker...not a party or public type.  Oh good you are still reading.  Whew!  
I am good natured and really just hoping to find an equally good guy.  I am very loving in life in general and slow to anger.  On the few occasions it does happen, I generally get over it in like 20 minutes. I love being nice to people... Itbis just my nature to be silly and a smiley face.   Life is just too short and there is always something to smile about.   I am a homebody. Home is my happy place for sure. I recently bought a fixer upper home (100% paid for) on 2.5 acres. My goal is to be as self sufficient as possible. As many of us are, I have a knack for doing things that need to be done. Hammers, power tools, some electrical stuff, gardening... Very little that scares me to try. I would not call myself a pro at anything but friends and family always say things like "you are amazing" and "is there anything you can't do?" So, I suppose my DIY skills are better than some but far from perfect and mostly I just wing it.  Sometimes my end result is an epic fail while other times, hey! That worked out great. My new property is a virgin to homesteading so there is a ton to do. I can certainly do things on my own but it sure would be nice to find that guy that makes me laugh and doesn't mind holding the other end of the 2x4 or running the chain saw (my two fears chainsaws and snakes- insert hebejebees here). My house as I said, is a fixer upper but I have two fireplaces (one upstairs one in the basement - it is a ranch style), septic tank, there is a well for water, and all electric (which was a must as wind and solar are a goal). I can sew ANYTHING, I am a decent cook and LOVE to make food from what can be grown in MY yard. I have experience with canning and freezing food to preserve but want to dehydrate and learn other methods as well. I will paint anything that will stand still and love to take junk and make it functional dare I even say pretty?!! I currently have no animals but look forward to mini goats and chickens. I have been married in the past, but I have three adult girls and 7 grandbabies with 2 more on the way. (That really makes me sound old doesn't it?)  My middle daughter and 3 grands live with me at this time but I certainly don't mind that one bit. I have the ability, and room to help them live a simpler life. Knowing my grands get to grow up country is a fantastic thing. Speaking of childhood, mine was phenomenal! I grew up with loving parents, in a Christian home, with good values. I was a happy kid and as a result am a happy adult. We spent a short time on a farm and I am no stranger to horses and farmy ways. So a couple things that might help understand who I am and if we might be compatible: I would not do well with someone that has an expectation of a submissive obeying female. Yet, at the same time I am non-confrontational. I am a strong, independent type (as MANY female homesteaders are). However, I do not expect the world to adapt to my ways. I am flexible in life and understand how compromise is necessary. I can be determined and strong willed (but a happy, fun, silly type of strong willed not the big meanie butt type) but am rarely,if ever, discourteous or disrespectful. For instance: as a courtesy I will always speak to my partner about where I am or if I am going to be later than expected. However, I would be very disturbed if those same courtesies were seen as required. Make sense? I sure would enjoy finding a special guy who shares my romanticized views of a simpler life filled with hard work. (We all know simple certainly does not mean easy). So there ya have it... Me in a billion words or less. If I left you with any questions (though in channeling my inner Hemmingway, pretty sure my verbose introduction left little of that), ask away. Happy to be here and Hi y'all.
[Thumbnail for 20200222_163625-2.jpg]
Uh oh, we're definitely being carded. Here, show him this tiny ad:
Learn Permaculture through a little hard work
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!