• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic

looking for a work/rent trade  RSS feed

 
r crusoe
Posts: 1
Location: S.F. Bay Area
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hello, the reason that I am placing this add is to find a space to continue my never ending education into permaculture. I would like, in the next few years to start an edible landscaping/permaculture business and this project is crucial to that for me. With this I can make a good portfolio and hopefully get enough experience that I would feel ok charging enough that I could support my family. Thank you for reading.

Hello we are looking for a 1-2 bedroom house/cabin/trailer to rent in exchange for gardening, care taking, electrical work, house keeping, animal or child care ect. We can afford to spend about 400 on rent but would prefer a full trade. Here is a little info about us; I am a California state certified electrician in the IBEW local 302. (I can fax or email a copy of my work history with the electrical union) I have been in this trade for 10 years now, I am the fourth generation in my family to be in this trade. My father was a general contractor until I was 16 years old,during this time he built more then 20 homes and did many remodels. I spent many hours on different jobs helping him with things from plumbing to carpentry to electrical. Even after my father stopped being a general contractor and went back to being an electrician we still worked on many different projects together as he was remodeling the house my parents live in for 5 year and doing small construction on the side. I have been studying and teaching myself sustainable gardening and landscape design for the past 4 years. During this time I have spent 100's of hours researching, work(ed) with a permaculture community garden in Martinez, built an aquaponics system to filter my neighbors pond, and have transformed the soil and the plants at the house I am currently living. As part of the process of rejuvenating the property I live at now I have built 2 green houses on an incredibly tight budget, I have built worm composting bins, a natural archway built from the left over tree trimmings strong enough that I can hang on it. I have built a fountain with a small wetland area in one section and a pond in another to create a self regulating system with 8 fish. I have also brought in 20 cubic yards of mulch 20 bales of straw and dug swales on the property to help retain water and changed the soil from being unable to be penetrated by a pitch fork to being able to dig in it with your bare hands and actually finding worms. I prefer to do edible ornamental landscaping and permaculture but I have the knowledge of doing other as well. Another project I forgot to mention is I had a 1975 RV that I added 500 watts of solar panels to. This was a complete overhaul of the electrical system including four golf cart batteries, a charger, inverter, meter, led lights and a connection to the alternator so that driving it would also charge the batteries. In general I am an all around handy person, I can fix most things around the house and if I cant, I can teach myself to as I am a very quick learner. I have references as well as photograph's of the community garden, and my garden if you would like to see.

I am 29 years old born and raised in the Bay area, attended Alhambra High school in Martinez Ca. I have been married for 4 years to my wife and we have 2- 12 and half pound dogs, One is a Chihuahua and the other is Chihuahua jackrussel. Both are very well behaved potty trained loving dogs. Majority of the time we don't even need to put a leash on them. My wife Ana is a homemaker and has worked a lot in the house cleaning field as well as with children of all ages. She loves knitting, photography and reading, thats usually how she passes her time. We are both quiet private people who enjoy being in nature and away from major cities. We also use very little energy and even own a hand powered washing machine. I also love making food of all types. We are mostly raw vegan, so growing our food would be great for us, but we will NOT push our feelings on this. This is actually part of the reason I would like to raise some goats and chickens because then I know they were treated well before they are eaten.

We do not do drugs or drink or throw or attend parties. If we sound like a couple that would work well with you please email us. Thank you

We will attach our resume's & references in response.
Some of the things I would like to build/do are; earthbag structures, lakes/ponds, wetlands, grey water systems, human waste systems, bee keeping, animal husbandry, solar water heaters/ovens/dehydrators, making candles and soaps, essential oil, cheese, and lots more. I would love to get as close to being self sustainable as possible.
 
Morgan Morrigan
Posts: 1400
Location: Verde Valley, AZ.
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Contact the wineries in Wilcox, AZ.
There is a bunch of them, and they need good help

MOst would like a "green" garden for the cred.

 
Susan Warren
Posts: 3
Location: Concord California
hugelkultur tiny house urban
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
I just posted this...

WANTED: Someone to trade permaculture gardening and/or landscaping skills for housing in the east bay area of California. I have a small home built in 1947 on .18 acres of land in Concord California.  The house has two bedrooms and a livable shop off the house.  Bedroom and/or shop room rents for $500 per month each (take one or both).  I would like to trade 10 hours per month for gardening/landscape maintenance @$30 per hour.  Rooms will probably be available Spring of 2017 maybe sooner (as soon as my son and his family move out).

I am not a large scale farm but I am an avid permaculturist.

If this interests you let me know,
Susan
 
I agree. Here's the link: https://richsoil.com/wood-heat.jsp
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!