• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com pie forums private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Anne Miller
  • Leigh Tate
  • jordan barton
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Nicole Alderman
stewards:
  • r ranson
  • paul wheaton
  • Greg Martin
master gardeners:
  • Carla Burke
  • John F Dean
  • Jay Angler
gardeners:
  • Nancy Reading
  • Mike Barkley
  • L. Johnson

NE-US - diverse guy wanting to trade labor for a place to call home

 
Posts: 19
Location: PA
  • Likes 2
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator


hello all!

here is a reasonably diverse guy, in my early 50's, looking for a quiet place to call home, preferably in a wooded area (the more remote the better) with a source for clean water

as my mom is getting up there in years, i don't want to stray too far from PA, but would consider anything in the NE region

though i am not looking for labor intensive, full-time work, i am certainly willing to help out where needed - maybe like 10-20 hrs. a week, give or take, with the potential to earn a small wage for extra work or special projects

i am trustworthy, dependable, have a good work ethic and i love working outdoors (a resume, with references, is available upon request)

although i would not call myself an expert in any particular area, i have experience in a number of fields, including...

* heavy equipment operator
* basic construction, carpentry and demolition
* basic electrical, plumbing and septic
* basic woodworking and rough/rustic furniture making
* knowledge of most power/hand tools, including chainsaws, splitters, etc.
* welding (arc/mig), cutting (plasma/gas), fabrication
* landscaping
* photography
* website and basic web-server administration (LAMP)
* hobby software development for the Windows platform
* basic CAD experience and research, development and prototyping of various mechanical systems
* some electronics experience
* robotics and remotely controlled vehicles

i have spent much of my life working in professions that are destructive to the earth (surface mining especially) and though i could easily be making a nice income in my area (shale gas), i refuse to do this kind of work any longer

i enjoy living a very simply life, close to nature, and require very little in the way of living accommodations - i suspect that what most people would call a shanty, i would call a castle, and i could build my own "castle" if you don't have one available

i am interested in alternative energy, including solar and water, and the wood mass heaters that are discussed here

unfortunately i don't have allot of experience with growing food, outside of small gardening, but i am willing to learn!

current and previous hobbies include small boating, light hiking, rock climbing, spelunking (cave exploration), urban exploration and photography

you can watch a couple videos of stuff i've been involved on Viemo and YouTube
 
Oh, sure, you could do that. Or you could eat some pie. While reading this tiny ad:
Work/Trade for the 2022 PDC, PTJ, and SKIP events
https://permies.com/t/166040/experiences/Work-Trade-PDC-PTJ-SKIP
reply
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic