• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Anne Miller
  • Nicole Alderman
  • r ranson
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Mike Haasl
  • paul wheaton
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • Dave Burton
  • Joseph Lofthouse
master gardeners:
  • jordan barton
  • Greg Martin
  • Carla Burke
  • Ash Jackson
  • Kate Downham

Looking for - San Fran area WWOOF/work exchange

Posts: 9
Location: East Tennessee
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
My partner, Cori Ann, and I are moving to the San Francisco area in August for work and school respectively. I will be attending the Regenerative Design Institute and will thus only be in school 2 days a week. I would like to fill my free time by continuing my permaculture education in a hands on environment and am looking to trade work for a room for the two of us. I must insist on a private room, however shared bathrooms are not a problem.

I recognize that typical WWOOF stays are only a few weeks or months, however I am looking for lodging from Mid-august to at least the end of May. I am a very hard and smart worker and would be very happy to help with any wintertime projects since the harvest season will be over as well as planting in the spring. I know that typically WWOOFers get room and board in exchange for their stay but I am somewhat picky with diet and intend to buy a decent portion of my food, and thus do not expect to factor food in as a significant portion of the work exchange.

Due to working a full time job Cori will not be able to commit any set amount of hourly work per week, however she can be expected to fill in where she can, and I ought to have enough free time to work some of her work hours. Due to this, I would be willing to discuss paying some sort of rent, however I would greatly prefer a work based exchange.

Also, we have an extremely well behaved 2.5 year old golden retriever who lives very well indoors and out, is very friendly with people (especially children), other dogs, and other animals of all sorts. He can be kept in a room while we are not there if it is thought he might be a problem, but sadly his presence is not negotiable.

I know this may seem like a lot of terms, however I hope that I can appeal to someone who might be looking for PDC trained, able bodied, enthusiastic help. We are clean, friendly, and quiet people who would really like to get to know you and your farm and help out wherever we can. As mentioned above, I am quite open to negotiation of necessary hours and possible monetary supplementation, also we aren't looking for anything fancy, simply some privacy, a roof over our head, and the opportunity to learn and increase our social capital in a time when it matters most.

Thank you very much for your time and consideration. Feel free to directly message me if you have any questions of a less public nature (dunno what those would be, but just in case)
Don't count your weasels before they've popped. And now for a mulberry bush related tiny ad:
2021 RMH Jamboree planning thread!
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic