• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic

Seeking Caretaker / Farm Manager / Project Team Member position.  RSS feed

 
Timothy Brogan
Posts: 47
Location: Oregon Coast
books solar tiny house
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Seeking Caretaker / Farm Manager / Project team Member position.

My partner and I are seeking a caretaking couple position on the Oregon Coast, central or southern preferred but anywhere in Southwest Oregon would be considered. If the right situation came along we would consider a more distant locale. We take the title of Care Takers as more than just a job description.

We are both experienced and have until recently been caretaking separate properties in Oregon and California. My previous employer needed to cut expenses and her employer sold the property she was caretaking, both of which happened to occur in the same time period so we are now set on finding a position together.

Currently I am employed as a full-time caretaker / farm manager on a 22 acre organic farm and will vacate my position upon finding a new one. I care for dairy goats, chickens, ducks, horses, rabbits, greenhouses, raised beds and orchards. I grew up on a cattle and sheep ranch in Northern Nevada and have extensive experience with large and small livestock and various types of farm and heavy equipment. I've been at my current location and employment for 5 years. I also caretake two additional local properties for landowners who need to travel on a regular basis.

Housing is not needed as I have a self-contained 33 ft. motorhome and she has a 15 foot towable gypsy wagon. Electric and water would be nice, though we both have lived off-grid extensively.

We would like to find someplace we would be able to garden and raise our chickens and ducks. I have one small dog Sam, (10 lbs.) who is good with animals, doesn't bark unless visitors arrive and is exceptionally well-mannered. We are quiet, self-reliant folk who prefer to stay home and spend most of our free time either working on various farm projects, gardening or reading and listening to music. There are two children 10 and 13 who would be with us. We have lots of skills to improve and maintain your property, whether it is a working farm or ranch or . We are hard workers, intelligent and resourceful and need little to no supervision.

I have my own side business designing, developing and hosting web sites as an alternate income source. I also like to build small animal housing and farm related solar projects which I sell. We are also contemplating a startup to build tiny homes for the homeless and modular aquaponics greenhouses for community sponsored gardens and food shares. Within the next five years if not sooner we'd also like to acquire our own small plot of land for a homestead so I should mention that we are open to land for work type situations.

Skills:

Timothy: Heavy and light equipment operation and maintenance, fence building, animal husbandry, small and large animals, veterinary skills, organic gardening, greenhouse building maintenance and operation, carpentry, electrician, plumbing, painting, mechanical skills, crop and garden irrigation and more. Extensive computer and network related skillset (20+ years in IT)

Jennifer: Organic gardening, emergency medicine, professional photographer and videographer. She is currently a first responder / volunteer fireman in a rural community in California with a fair number of respondent calls. She would also like to pursue a similar position wherever we end up.

Experience:

I have managed and worked on large cattle ranches in NE California, NW Nevada and supervised crews of up to 20 individuals. I also worked in gold mines running all related heavy equipment. I have also been previously employed as a Systems Administrator, Systems Analyst and Network Technician, as well as performed extensive technical support and customer service having been a joint owner of an ISP in Newport, Oregon. I currently operate a webdesign/hosting business as a side business which provides a supplemental income.
I've also taught college level courses to incarcerated individuals in the Nevada State Prison System and a local community college in Elko, Nevada so I can get along with just about any personality type and can work well and complete tasks under stress when necessary. I have been a member of various related committees, advisory boards and also worked for the Nevada Supreme Court on a major 5 year technological project concerning the implementation of technology in the courtrooms of the District Courts so I have the ability to be a contributing team player and understand the intricacies of the long-term planning of projects and how to achieve and record perceived goals. I was also responsible for a budget of $500,000 of which I had to keep records of expenditures and assets, so I'm pretty good at budgeting, cost effectiveness and basic accounting. And last but not least I helped out Paul here at permies get his podcast recordings to broadcast form in as short a period of time as possible and at decent compression rates so they played well and didn't eat up a lot of bandwidth for rural listeners. I guess that also falls into the category that I can pretty much get along with any personality types.

I can pretty much fix about anything that is repairable whether it be mechanical, technical, human or animal. If I don't know how to do something I never claim that I do and am a quick study if learning is required. I do no drugs, am a light drinker and can pass a background check and drug test. I have excellent references. I also run a caretaker / farm hand/ intern group on Facebook and have been connecting land and farm owners with caretakers and farm hands for a few years through that venue. ( https://www.facebook.com/groups/farmhands/)

I don't know the entirety of my partner's employment history or all of her various skills and experience and since she's not right at hand I can't easily ask her at the moment I am writing this ad as the property she is currently at is entirely off-grid with no cell signal. I will say that I will vouch for her character and integrity and that isn't something I give out lightly.

Please contact us here or at caretakers@whitewolfmedia.net if you are interested in discussing anything further...

Thanks for your time and interest...

Timothy Brogan & Jennifer Leos

 
Ruth Stout was famous for gardening naked. Just like this tiny ad:
Complete Wild Edibles Package by Sergei Boutenko (1 HD video + 10 eBooks)
https://permies.com/t/70674/digital-market/digital-market/Complete-Wild-Edibles-Package-Sergei
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!