• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education experiences global resources the cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Nicole Alderman
  • r ranson
  • Anne Miller
  • paul wheaton
  • Joseph Lofthouse
stewards:
  • Mike Jay
  • Jocelyn Campbell
  • Devaka Cooray
garden masters:
  • Steve Thorn
  • Dave Burton
  • Dan Boone
gardeners:
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • Mandy Launchbury-Rainey
  • Mike Barkley

Man Seeking Shelter and Part Time Work in the Southeast

 
Posts: 8
Location: USA
fish
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hello all

This will be a pretty long shot since I'm in a difficult situation, my needs are rather specific, and don't have a lot to offer. And autumn is upon us, so the timing isn't great, but thought I'd at least put myself out there and see if any opportunities arise. Now or in the months to come.

I'm male in my mid 50s. Haven't worked a regular job in years. My only skill is trucking and I'm done with that line of work.

I'm seeking year round housing at an affordable rate. Somewhere in the southeast, NC or GA would be best for my needs, but I'd also consider other locations.

Unfortunately I'm currently stranded out west with no vehicle and an expired drivers license, so that presents a significant obstacle. Can maybe renew my license soon but no way I can afford wheels at this time.

But if I can find my way back east and a good place to stay, I'd be willing to pay partial rent plus work part time in exchange for rent reduction. I do have an income, albeit low. I'm not so much in need of paid salary as a break in bills and something productive to occupy my time.

For a long term arrangement, ideally I'd occupy a separate private unit of my own, such as single wide trailer trailer or small apartment with private entrance. Although I would also consider sharing a home with one single person. Just not with couples, families, community housing etc.

As for location, nothing off grid or way back in the boonies since I do not have wheels. And I'd want full amenities, kitchen, fridge, washer dryer, and good internet is absolutely essential.

To be clear right up front, if no work were available in any given month, $500 would be the maximum rent I could afford, including utilities.

I don't have any farming related knowledge or skills, but I'm always interested in learning something new. I love the outdoors, animals, gardening etc, and I've never been afraid to get my hands dirty. And I wouldn't mind other type jobs, such as simple yard work, running errands, helping with a small business etc.

I'm physically able, not overweight, but I can't do heavy lifting, or too much bending, since my back sometimes cramps up, I have a hernia, and my knees are not in great shape, due to my age and past work related strains and injuries. But I can certainly handle a good bit of physical work, if it's only a few hours here and there and not overly strenuous.

I do smoke cigarettes, and I'm not vegetarian if those are issues.

When I've got the travel money, I could fly back east, but getting from the nearest major airport to wherever I might be heading would be a problem.

Currently all my belongings are in storage in Atlanta. My goal is at some point rent a truck and move all my stuff into a home and sort it all out, get rid of as much as I can to lighten my load.

I've also been wanting to get involved with arts and crafts and pottery. I have some small hand and power tools and art supplies, and it would be fantastic if I could set up a little workshop, art studio area in a spare room or shed. Hopefully I can eventually find some way to earn a few extra bucks doing that, and buy a vehicle with the extra income.

Well if you might have a slot I'd fit into, or know someone who does, please let me know.

If possible I'd want to stay at least several years, but I'd also be interested in other temporary options. I could exchange labor for one month rent or so, just to have an affordable place to land while I search for more permanent housing.

Thanks for reading and best wishes to all.
 
Russ Patrick
Posts: 8
Location: USA
fish
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Spring is here and I wanted to let folks know I'm still available for a possible work/housing exchange. If it's a good fit and assuming I can get there. GA or NC would be best for my needs, but I'll consider other locations. I'm currently stuck out west and barely scraping by. Need to get back east because my belongings are in storage outside Atlanta.

I would pay at least enough rent to cover my utilities expenses, and provide my own food and other supplies. Just looking to work light labor jobs, lend a hand a few hours here and there in exchange for rent reduction.

I'm really wanting a separate unit, a place with private entrance and modern amenities, and to stay for several years, but I'm open to a more temporary arrangement. I'm also interested in renting a place even if there's no work exchange available, if you happen to know someone with an affordable place for rent. $500/month is my limit.

I have no special skills or farming experience, and no wheels at this time, but if you might have a spot I'd fit in, somewhere close to town and grocery stores, and can use a helping hand, please message me to discuss. If I do not reply then I probably didn't receive your message.

Thanks to Permies forum for allowing me to run this ad, and best wishes to all in 2019.
HPIM3382b.jpg
[Thumbnail for HPIM3382b.jpg]
Doing landscaping for a friend
 
Try 100 things. 2 will work out, but you will never know in advance which 2. This tiny ad might be one:
permaculture bootcamp - learn permaculture through a little hard work
https://permies.com/wiki/bootcamp
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!