Win a copy of Keeping Bees with a Smile this week in the Honey Bees forum!

Dj Maxwell

+ Follow
since Feb 04, 2020
Apples and Likes
Apples
Total received
0
In last 30 days
0
Total given
0
Likes
Total received
9
Received in last 30 days
2
Total given
1
Given in last 30 days
0
Forums and Threads
Scavenger Hunt
expand First Scavenger Hunt

Recent posts by Dj Maxwell

Hi Jenny,

Great post and kudos for ‘seeing the light’ and wanting to get out of the city and back to the basics. Im a few years out of your age range but if you’re considering Montana for your mountain life I’d be glad to give you some insight.

I moved to Montana (near Helena) when I was around your age and let me just say it’s frickin awesome out here - breathtakingly beautiful, unlimited recreation, and certainly less judgmental than city life. Do your research though and realize that wherever you end up the culture may be quite different than what you’re used to. I have no idea what you Texans are like as I’ve never been there but what I’ve noticed out here is that folks put a very high value on recreation (hiking, camping, fishing, hunting, biking, etc) and have a strong dislike for city folk that come in and bring their city thinking and habits with them. It takes awhile to adjust to the slower pace but once you do you’ll wonder how in the hell you ever lived anywhere else. I’m not sure what you mean by ‘farming community’ but farmers markets, hiking, nature and laid back good people (for the most part) are just part of life out here. As for finding a partner I wouldn't worry too much. You’re a beautiful gal and will likely be swarmed by dudes wherever you go.

Take care and good luck with your adventure.

~DJ
Hello my new like minded friends! My name is DJ and I’d love to find a like-minded lady to partner with and create a fulfilling life together. I’m 48 years old, physically fit, college educated and live a simple, debt free, life on 11 acres in beautiful western Montana. I live in a well built, well insulated 36x48 building and am in the process of framing out and finishing the interior living space. For the past few years I’ve been working on restoring the land itself back to native grasses and am extremely happy with the results. I had a herd of elk snacking on the property this fall which made all the hard work worth it. This spring I’m hoping to get some fruit trees planted and build some raised garden beds.

Although I currently own a property suitable for the lifestyle I’m after I believe that companionship is paramount to a happy existence and would have no problem in combining resources and starting anew elsewhere. I don’t want to divulge financial matters but I’m doing fine on that front. I’m mainly looking for a like minded partner that dreams of creating a rewarding simple life together. If this sounds appealing to you and you want to know more about me I’d love to hear from you.
3 months ago