• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Anne Miller
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Nicole Alderman
stewards:
  • Mike Haasl
  • r ranson
  • paul wheaton
master gardeners:
  • jordan barton
  • John F Dean
  • Rob Lineberger
  • Carla Burke
  • Jay Angler
gardeners:
  • Greg Martin
  • Ash Jackson
  • Jordan Holland

56 y.o. man, northern Maine (near Houlton)

 
Posts: 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
It seems improbable there are going to be kindred spirits up here, but maybe there's a surprise in store.

Pretty new to Maine. I have a cabin and 52 acres of tired potato field and woods. Revitalizing the soil and making a cosy place that includes an orchard, pastures, herb garden, sheep, goats, horse (just one right now but more soon hopefully), chickens, and livestock guardian dogs.

It's remote here, and there's no TV, radio, nightlife, or community (to my knowledge). I occupy myself by doing projects and trying to keep up with the chore load.

I don't drink except hard cider or mead once in a great while, and smoking is just gross. I'm about six feet tall, have longer blond hair and a dark, albeit slightly greying beard.

It's been four years since I bought this place, plenty of time to mull over qualities a partner would possess. Men or women, either is fine by me. Around my age would work best. Quieter disposition, doesn't mind pushing themselves physically, fairly independent, someone who wants to share time together but also solo occasions  to do their thing. I'm sometimes a night owl who gets up to work just because. Winters here are challenging and also when the lack of companionship is most pronounced.
Hope to at least make a few local friendships.

9F9EC520-197F-4762-A4D2-58A64B61B96C.jpeg
[Thumbnail for 9F9EC520-197F-4762-A4D2-58A64B61B96C.jpeg]
Cabin at night
 
Posts: 9
Location: 04267
1
homeschooling medical herbs wood heat
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
I am in stoneham Maine. North western mountainous area. Sep Holtzer style of permaculture. I have 129 acres. The winters do get very lonely and are long and cold.
I would love to meet more people like you. I am 51 years young and I am strong. I am a gymnast and only 5 feet and 100 pounds but everyone who knows me knows how much I can get done in a day. I make it happen. I have big gardens and chickens and dogs , cats and bunnies.
gift
 
6 Ways To Keep Chickens - pdf download
will be released to subscribers in: soon!
reply
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic