• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Anne Miller
  • Pearl Sutton
  • r ranson
  • Nicole Alderman
stewards:
  • Joseph Lofthouse
  • paul wheaton
  • Mike Haasl
master gardeners:
  • jordan barton
  • John F Dean
  • Carla Burke
  • Greg Martin
gardeners:
  • Jay Angler
  • Leigh Tate
  • thomas rubino

New permie looking to help out and learn

 
Posts: 1
1
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all,

I'm new here and am interested in providing help at others' permaculture homesteads, in a workstay situation. If it per chance over time turned into a rent to own or something similar, like a land share, that'd be great too.

A bit about myself:
I'm a 33 year old male from the Chicago area, having recently relocated to rural southern Wisconsin. I have experience with gardening in community gardens in the city of Chicago (I assisted in organizing one of those community gardens), gardens in the suburbs with much larger areas, and I also worked for a restaurant two years ago, to grow and manage their two 75' x 150' gardens and hoophouse that provided produce directly to their two kitchen locations. The gardens I always maintained for myself consisted more or less entirely of food or perennials that I was hybridizing.
My day job and main hobby for the past 20 years, has mostly consisted of historical research based in Hungary, Germany or Chicago. A few family members were in the carpentry and contractor business, so I have slight experience with demolition and remodeling.
Cooking, food and plants are my passion. I thoroughly enjoy being out in nature, biking, hiking or foraging. In the two months since moving to Wisconsin, I have taught myself to identify dozens of new-to-me plants - I love foraging!

I'm interested in expanding my knowledge of building/carpentry, with livestock and also learning more about permaculture and sustainability. Fermentation is new to me within the past two years, and I'm interested in learning more about that as well. Farm or ranch to table, CSAs.. I'm all for learning!

I can move just about anywhere in the continental US and am open to any length of stay.

Thanks for listening!
Nick
 
We must storm this mad man's lab and destroy his villanous bomb! Are you with me tiny ad?
Food Forest Card Game - Game Forum
https://permies.com/t/61704/Food-Forest-Card-Game-Game
reply
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic