• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Anne Miller
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Nicole Alderman
  • Mike Haasl
  • r ranson
  • paul wheaton
master gardeners:
  • jordan barton
  • John F Dean
  • Rob Lineberger
  • Carla Burke
  • Jay Angler
  • Greg Martin
  • Ash Jackson
  • Jordan Holland

Work Stay, Bryan TX

Posts: 11
Location: Texas
urban cooking bike
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hello everyone! I have been renting my spare room on AirBnB (https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/17278596?s=67&shared_item_type=1&virality_entry_point=1&sharer_id=2711461) for a few years and hosting couchsurfers during that time as well. I have recently considered seeking a work stay arrangement, similar to workaway, where work in the garden and occasional babysitting is exchanged for housing instead of money. This is the brief description.....more to follow for those interested.

I am a 40 year old male with two young daughters (6 and 8) who live with me about 40% of the time. I am seeking someone who is good with children, interested in permaculture (experience is not necessary but would be great), and will invest themselves into the land in exchange for living in the spare room of my house. My initial thought was to have an exchange of 10 - 20 hours of work per week for housing. I would not provide any other financial support. The vast majority of the workload would be working the land. Due to having 2 young girls, I would prefer a female but will be open to considering men as well. I know if I were seeking this opportunity, I would not want to be excluded simply for my gender. Ideally this arrangement would be for a minimum of 6 months and be open ended for as long as it is mutually beneficial.

I don't know if this is reasonable but I am very flexible and would be open to listening to whatever proposals someone may have.

I live on about 1/3 of an acre in east/central Texas in a 3/2 duplex, this is a city/town setting. I own both units and the land. I currently have five 30' long 36" wide garden beds where I plant annual vegetables. You can get a sense of my place on Instagram @lumbreurbanfarm, I have not used this in some time but you can get an idea about what you would be getting yourself into. I also have the beginnings of a good size hugelkultur that I plan to plant with a variety of things but mainly focus on industrial hemp production. I will use the hemp to extract cbd for a salve I make. I have some various other growing areas outside of the main garden beds and have room for expansion.

My main desire for seeking a workstay arrangement is to find someone that will give me the extra hand(s) I need to begin providing a reliable source of fresh vegetables to the local community in some way. Additionally, I value the idea of moving away from the monetary system and see this as a small way I can contribute to that idea. I also feel like this is the type of connection I want to create in the world, with like-minded individuals.

I currently have a house guest (couchsurfer) until early March but could make alternate arrangements if sooner availability is important for you. If you are interested, please let me know either through this forum or you can send me a message through my IG, I check it more frequently than this forum.

Come grow in Texas! :)

The first person to drink cow's milk. That started off as a dare from this tiny ad:
Rocket Mass Heater Manual - now free for a while
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic