• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com pie forums private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Anne Miller
  • jordan barton
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Leigh Tate
  • paul wheaton
stewards:
  • r ranson
  • Nicole Alderman
  • Greg Martin
master gardeners:
  • Carla Burke
  • John F Dean
  • Jay Angler
gardeners:
  • Nancy Reading
  • Mike Barkley
  • Christopher Shepherd

Market Farm/Nursery Small Community Oppurtunity

 
Posts: 9
1
5
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
I have a unique opportunity for the right person or couple. Do you want to learn Permaculture, market farming and how to start a natural plant nursery? What about writing and publishing books?  Are you just tired of trading hours for dollars and want a home with meals and utilities in exchange for your help doing things in nature?

If you said yes to one or more of these, this might be the opportunity you have been waiting for. I have 20 acres and it’s in zone 6b. I have 3 permaculture certificates and will have my Masters in the fall of 2021 in writing.

Goats, chickens, dogs, cats and soon ducks, and possibly a pet cow in the spring. I am vegetarian and there is no hunting or killing animals on my property. You can eat meat, others here do. That is not a problem, it’s your body. What is a problem is if you want to kill animals on my property or go hunting and bring back animal bodies to butcher. If you hunt elsewhere, butcher there and just bring back the clean and processed meat for yourself. Then we have no problems.

Now I want to complete many projects and get this into a functional and profitable at some point permaculture market farm, nursery, etc. I am writing and publishing books as well. Slower than I would like but I am making progress.

The problem is I have to go out and work on properties other than mine for cash that I then pay the mortgage, utilities, and all that fun stuff with. I also want to get materials and supplies for the market farm etc. This leaves me without enough time to make the progress I would like.
I also would like to have someone around who loves plants and permaculture to talk to about all that fun stuff. If they love movies and books as well as writing all the better! I want to get one of those 120-inch outdoor screens so we can have movie nights around the campfire.

Projects:
Rainwater catchment, new goat housing, greenhouses, and cold frames, high tunnels as well as low tunnels, rocket stove in the greenhouse. Outdoor kitchen, tool shed, new chicken coop and run, new garden beds. I am renting an excavator for a week or month in September and putting in several small ponds and swales etc while we have it.
I have several thousand dollars of seeds and will buy more as we get going. I have many items and am always getting more.
I need hard work on the property completed and done well. I want a friend or friends to hand with that similar interests that can become like extended family.
I offer knowledge we will both (all) learn daily as we muck stuff up and get other stuff right. Laughter and friendship. Meals and housing as well. If you need cash, I can do 100 a month but I am not rich and do not have more to spare.

On the upside no rent, utilities, free Wi-Fi, food, and next year if you are still hanging in there with me, we will start selling at markets and there will be profit sharing! Private room but a shared kitchen and bath.
No smoking, drunkenness an occasional beer or wine is fine just in moderation. No parties. No drama. If something is bothering you, let’s chat and figure out a solution. Things grow out of proportion if small problems are ignored too long.

Who else is here? Adelle, 30, was homeless 9 years ago when I thought a community of people would work out and she stayed. Mary is 48 and staying with her family for this year but might be back next year. Faye, 76, is getting her master’s degree, she is an amazing baker and cook as well as canning and gardening experience out the butt.
We can find furniture if you need it. If you need more money, it can be made online or once in a while I have jobs that need extra help offsite and you would get xx amount for dollars for that work. House needs work but utilities, walls, roof, and floors all are solid. We have heat in winter, and fans in summer.
Oh, and me, I am 40 and a permaculture nerd and writer working on publishing books.

So, if this sounds interesting, call 6203071129 or 6205064511. Email is slower expressyourreality@yahoo.com
Midwest location, more details after we chat. Cabin or camper parking is also possible.  


 
See ya later boys, I think I'm in love. Oh wait, she's just a tiny ad:
Building a Better World in your Backyard by Paul Wheaton and Shawn Klassen-Koop
https://permies.com/w/better-world
reply
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic