• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com pie forums private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Anne Miller
  • Pearl Sutton
  • r ranson
stewards:
  • Leigh Tate
  • paul wheaton
  • Nicole Alderman
master gardeners:
  • Carla Burke
  • Beau Davidson
  • Jay Angler
  • John F Dean
  • Nancy Reading
gardeners:
  • thomas rubino
  • Casie Becker
  • Mike Barkley

Looking for help between Austin and San Antonio TX

 
Posts: 3
Location: Central, TX
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Everyone,

I’m sorry if this isn’t very clear.  Words are not my strong suit.  Please feel to ask questions or message me.  I try to check on here every few days.  I very rarely post but have been lurking for yrs.

We are a family working toward implementing permaculture practices on a new homestead between San Antonio and Austin.  We are 4 generations.  My mom is rarely here.  We have 2 great Pyramese, a schnauzer, and a rat dog as well as 3 cats.   We will be building an inground bagged earth water cistern and pool/pond, then the mother in law apartment that will be attached to the garage.  After that part is done it will be on the the main house.  Our goal is to be completely off the grid and self sufficient when the main house is done.   I know that will be quite a few years.  We do have electricity and fiber internet.

Below is, hopefully, most of the info you need.

The Homestead:
It is almost 12 acres that we purchased a few years ago. We have started a few things out here while watching and planning.  There is my daughters mobile home, an open barn, a converted cargo container and most recently a tiny house.  There is currently nothing setup in terms of gardening, farming or permaculture.  This month i am planting the 9 trees, berries in above ground containers and building the chicken coop/run.  Ideally We should have the pullets within the next month or so.  We do have a chicken tractor that is easy to move around.  And having some of the hay removed for the garden, safety and the road to be completed.


Work
The work can include anything from digging primarily with backhoe, planting, simple construction, tractor work,  tending small animals (or helping to prepare spaces for them), and more. This is not yet a producing farm or homestead. We are just starting out. We ourselves are learning permaculture as we go.  We live off of rainwater and use composting toilets.  There are a total of 4 rainwater tanks on the property and ibc totes by where the trees are going in.  All drinking water is filtered with a burkey.  

The Location:
We are 45 mins to either San Antonio or Austin.  15 mins to San Marcos, New braunfels, and Seguin. San Marcos river is close by and they offer tubing and such. It is a spring fed river so it stays about 78 all yr round. Schliterbaun water park is close by as well.  It is very warm in the summer here so all work will be done early in the day. Mornings are usually quite nice as well as late night. We do get crazy weather.  When it rains it is more like torrential rainfall.  Which means we cant work.  But it feels wonderful.  And we get some wicked wind out here.  Commonly get gusts of 50 or more during storms.

Accommodations:
Will depend on a lot of things, such as how long you are going to be here, weather, habits, and what you are comfortable with.  We have hook up for electricity available under the open barn.  The barn is approx 40’ by 60’. There are 2 electric hook ups available there. There is a 5th wheel there already but currently my youngest is living in it.  We have a hot tub in the barn as well to ease those sore muscles. There is also a semi outdoor kitchen set up there.  We have 2 water storage tanks there.  There are showers available.  There is also a cargo container tiny home that my mom uses while she is in town. Has a full kitchen but no shower area. It does have a composting toilet.  Or of course you can camp.  NO open fires.

Work Goals:
I need help with moving things around at times, building (from simple fence to building an earthbag home) Getting the garden set up.  Trees planted.  We do have and use a tractor/backhoe.  Fixing things if they break.  And someone to just help with the larger things.  Work goes faster and is more enjoyable when there is someone else there.  


Expectations:
Come and learn with us. We will try to do 4 to 6 hours of work per day for no more than 5 days per week. That being said, it is perfectly fine if you taking a multi-day excursion. It's all negotiable except the time of day we work.  I cant be in the heat of the day.  So some days we may quit by 9am or not work at all.  So we all have to be a bit flexible. It is after all texas were the weather can act like a bipolar teenager.  

We would like a minimum 2-week stay. Longer is better, so long as well all agree that the relationship is working for everyone.  There is long term potential for the right person(s).

No illegal drugs or heavy drinkers please.  420 has been approved for certain conditions.

Family dynamics:
I am happily married.  My husband is a surveyor and works as long as the sun is up. So he is only home at night and one day on the weekend.  Which leaves me with little to no help.  I have been hurt out here and thankfully my mom was on the property to help me, but it was a big reality check that there are some things I shouldn’t be doing when nobody is around.

My youngest is 18 just graduated and is just starting her adult life.  Our middle child (21) is doing his prereqs for premed.  He works and lives off the property.  Our grand babies are 13 and 3. We are LGBTQIA friendly. Their mom is my oldest 31 and is handicapped and lives on the property.  She has a home health aid.  That could be a paid position for the right person.  It is only part time.  She is partially wheelchair bound.  Her condition affects ALL connective tissue in her body.  It is degenerative.  Her pain management is handled primarily naturally.  But requires me to be close by.  She frequently sub laxs numerous joints daily.  Sometimes she cant get them back into place.  She also has memory issues.

My husband and I live in the tiny home. We both are outside smokers.  He has 16 yrs clean and sober.  I drink occasionally.   He is definitely the joker.  He is always popping off with a new joke.  We have a sick sense of humor according to some.  We tell dirty jokes and we swear.  We pick on each other. And we are definitely smart@$$es. I wouldn’t consider us conservative.  We dont do politics.   We do have firearms.  

I am taking a permaculture course.  Have plenty of books on it if you want to read and learn with me.   I’m in general a mom personality.  And plenty of the kids my kids grew up with come by and say hi.  Almost all call me mom.  I am a spiritual person.  But there’s a bit of everything out here.  Our main policy before all else is be honest and straight forward.  I enjoy in-depth deep conversations.  I dont do the superficial crud to well.  But my husband does.

Food:
We will provide food for 3 meals a day.  I don’t typically eat breakfast.  But I’ll sit down and chat while I have my coffee if you’d like.   The other meals cooking is usually split up between who cooks.  But honestly my husband is a much better cook.  


If you have any questions please let me know.
Thanks!
A7B06E85-13DE-4FB4-B759-0ECF0295843F.jpeg
Cargo container almost done
Cargo container almost done
8F1966D0-FC3B-4580-BB04-DA06F81FEDA7.jpeg
[Thumbnail for 8F1966D0-FC3B-4580-BB04-DA06F81FEDA7.jpeg]
F262652D-AE66-4FF1-9D24-07648282819F.jpeg
[Thumbnail for F262652D-AE66-4FF1-9D24-07648282819F.jpeg]
EADA39C0-7498-45AB-95DC-BF0C94DC9A64.jpeg
[Thumbnail for EADA39C0-7498-45AB-95DC-BF0C94DC9A64.jpeg]
88B03EA0-015A-4790-9EE4-BB7D421422B6.jpeg
[Thumbnail for 88B03EA0-015A-4790-9EE4-BB7D421422B6.jpeg]
 
Posts: 2
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hello! New to the forum -My name is Eboni (my tribe calls me Sowl) and we currently are coming into a new elevated spiritual evolution. Me(25) my partner Tee(27)and my best friend Devan(24) along with my furbaby, Tsuki(1yr old maltipoo) - have just traveled from Virginia all the way to Houston, Tx.

Source has sent us here to Texas (not necessarily Houston) to learn something new about ourselves and our mission. The path we have chosen isn’t conventional and being indigenous aboriginals of these lands.. needless to say our families are not on the same vibration that we are on so.. we are each other’s family now.

We are currently living in hotels and now we are in the negative. Confirming that our mission resides elsewhere in nature and to learn how to live off the land and break away from these suppressing programs that society and powers that be have created for us to be under their control.
We have been studying holistic healing, energy healing, manifestation, tapping into our ancestors, guides, meditation and etc. One major thing apart of my mission is holistic health, herbalism, natural medicines. We are doing our best. We are elevating.

And tonight was the night that we made the decision to look completely out of the box and here you are. Like a golden egg.

We just want the opportunity to grow and evolve without the struggles of the matrix. We overstand nothing in life comes easy, however, we are all willing to be exactly who we are meant to be / working from our heart space and being authentically us.

We plan on living in Mexico by the beginning of next year at the the very least but until then we KNOW that we need to be educated and trained properly to become self sufficient, reprogram our mindsets and get on path. We would sincerely appreciate any response or help.  Y’all can email us at cimplesowl@gmail.com or ebwatson97@gmail.com
 
A wop bop a lu bob a womp bam boom. Tutti frutti ad:
Earth Friendly Heat - Full Event - 16 hours of video
https://permies.com/wiki/188928/Earth-Friendly-Heat-Full-Event
reply
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic