• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com pie forums private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Carla Burke
  • John F Dean
  • Nancy Reading
  • r ranson
  • Anne Miller
  • Jay Angler
stewards:
  • Pearl Sutton
  • paul wheaton
  • Leigh Tate
master gardeners:
  • Timothy Norton
  • Christopher Weeks
gardeners:
  • Tina Wolf
  • Matt McSpadden
  • Jeremy VanGelder

off grid southern oregon mtn. life

 
pollinator
Posts: 312
Location: 2300' elev., southern oregon
99
forest garden fungi foraging trees food preservation cooking building solar woodworking wood heat homestead
  • Likes 2
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
I am,72,fit/active, longhaired hippie/yippie,leftover from the Back to Land, Whole Earth Catalog,Mother Earth News,survivor of the 60's era,10th grade/HS. I have been living Off The Grid lifestyle going on 50 years. I'm on 40 mtn. acres, Natures Asylum-Siskiyou Ward,been here 45 years. It is mountain property, borders on Nat. Forest and BLM boundaries, no one above me, just 1,000 of acres of forest land.Year round creek thru property,drinking water and micro-hydro elec power. I have some solar panels. This is steep mtn. property, logged in late 50's early 60's with 4-5 acre ridge home/garden area, at end of a 3/4 mile steep 4x4 driveway. I have gotten snowed in up to 3 weeks,40+ inches of snow. I have a tractor, can plow my way out, find I don't mind the real solitude. My lifestyle might be more like camping out. I am a do it myself type person. I have a lot of unfinished projects and it doesn't look like I will finish some because of age, seem to be slowing down. In the past I have milled my lumber with a alaskan mill, built a livable type wood structure that I live in but is part store room/barn/workshop/home. I still cut and split all my firewood. There is a small garden area I try and get planted spring thru fall. I do some canning, have a freezer that I can store things I grow or pick, blackberries, blue berries, etc. Musician, play dobro,guitar Mushroom/food forager

Seeking  natural earthy outdoor "hippie" muscian/singer/songwriter type female w/4x4 PICKUP

Interested?  PM me
 
Posts: 2
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi there! I am curious if you'd be interested in a "work trade" type situation. I myself am F 22 and I am married to M 26. We are looking to officially get off grid. We both have grown up on semi off grid farms. We have the do it ourselves attitude and have tons of self sufficient experience, however having someone who has even more knowledge and experience to learn from would be a huge plus.
 
What we think, we become. - Buddha / tiny ad
Come visit Wheaton Labs - SEPPing at Basecamp for 40% off if you arrive before May 10th!
https://permies.com/wiki/251726/visit-Wheaton-Labs-SEPPing-Basecamp
reply
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic