• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com pie forums private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Carla Burke
  • John F Dean
  • Nancy Reading
  • r ranson
  • Jay Angler
  • Pearl Sutton
stewards:
  • paul wheaton
  • Leigh Tate
  • Burra Maluca
master gardeners:
  • Christopher Weeks
  • Timothy Norton
gardeners:
  • Jeremy VanGelder
  • Paul Fookes
  • Tina Wolf

Looking for permie friends/rental/worktrade in maine

 
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Howdy y'all,
 I'm a current student in my 30s (music lover, permaculture cert holder, dog owner), and I'm looking to relocate to Maine from NH.  I'm going to school online and am really missing community and exposure to likeminded people.  I lived off grid  in Northern California for years, but returned to be a caretaker for my mother, and well, here we are!

 I'm pursuing education in psychology, as mental wellness has always been a keen interest of mine.
 After years spent off grid living in a farming community, I miss being a part of something bigger than myself and being surrounded by people who are passionate about giving back to the land and each other.

 Long story short, ideally I'd love to rent a room/tinyhouse/trailer for about 6 months to a year while I finish my online degree.  I want to be in a place where I can contribute my farming skills as well as some rent money in exchange for being in a more natural location with like minded people.  I'm youngish l, have a dog, and am a very low impact roommate.  When I'm not studying I like to assist with gardening, go to the beach, have deep talks, and listen to music.  

Potential useful skills include: animal care (not a harvester as of now), plant care (advanced knowledge in hemp growing, as well as basic propagation, maintenence, and harvest for most species), basic landscaping and carpentry skills (I can use tools and follow direction, not a pro carpenter by any means), hospitality skills, marketing/online/business acumen, as well as a host of soft skills gained while living in community and running my own business (conflict resolution, communication, ability to lead or follow, sense of humor).  

 Any connections for friendship, worktrade, rentals, part-time work or just saying hi are welcome <3
 
Posts: 5
Location: USA
1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Phoebe, did you make it to Maine? What part of the state are you looking at?
 
Whatever you say buddy! And I believe this tiny ad too:
Free Heat Movies! Get 'em while it's Cold!
https://www.stoves2.com/Wood-Burning-Stoves
reply
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic