• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education experiences global resources the cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Nicole Alderman
  • r ranson
  • Anne Miller
  • paul wheaton
stewards:
  • Mike Jay
  • Jocelyn Campbell
  • Miles Flansburg
garden masters:
  • Dan Boone
  • Dave Burton
  • Steve Thorn
  • Greg Martin
gardeners:
  • Shawn Klassen-Koop
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Mike Barkley

A mama of a baby boy is seeking a mild climate and land to share

 
Posts: 40
  • Likes 5
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Before having my son, trying out new things and doing work in exchange for housing was a great experience, by and large.

I'm seeking something much more grounded, though.

A strictly work exchange arrangement wouldn't make sense for me at this time because it offers us no security nor stake with the people or place we would be pouring our sweat equity into.

I have also learned that it's not reasonable in my case to commit 20 hours or more in exchange for having place to live within a community because I'd barely have time to care for our needs, which is the whole point of why I'm seeking to share ownership of land so that I can establish a place my son can call home and build upon my family.

So, it should go without saying: if you're seeking farm hands/caretakers/interns/WWOOFers/volunteers - we're not the right fit.

Instead, I want to find family-oriented communities without open door policies who want co-owners or people to share their land in a rent-to-own type of format. I want to find partners here.

Link your thread in the reply, if you have one, or just give me a heads up that you sent me a PM with more details about your interests and what you have going on with your growing or established community.

I envision and would love to be in an environment that values:

-Sustainable land development, ideally in a lush setting with water rights and plenty of trees for recreation
-Minimal electricity and low-level electromagnetic activity i.e. Wi-Fi and cell phone for work
-Use of basic tools and infrastructure for simplistic, primitive building
-Organic, eco-friendly, non-toxic and natural living/farming
-Homeschooling/unschooling, non-violence, conscious/attachment parenting (NO corporal punishment)
-Off-grid living, self-sufficiency, sovereignty, social activism and ethical microbusinesses
-Animal husbandry i.e. cows, goats, chickens, rabbits are all great!
-Tiny houses i.e. cob, gypsy wagons, cabins, yurts, bell tents, wofatis, houses on wheels, weather/disaster/attack proofing
-Prepping and self-defense strategies
-Canning, dehydrating, herbal medicine and holistic/energetic healing

That's not an exhaustive list so please don't feel you have to meet all of these criteria or that you wouldn't be a match if you are working on something else I didn't specify.
 
Posts: 87
Location: SW New Mexico, 5300'elevation, 18" precip
12
chicken forest garden goat greening the desert homestead hugelkultur
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Sandra,
We are going to send you a PM
Sequoia
 
Posts: 23
Location: NW Nebraska
1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Sandra
I'm sending you a PM
Heather
 
Posts: 31
Location: Toutle WA (an hour north of portland)
1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
hey sandra,
really connecting with the lifestyle you've created in my mind. Sounds a lot like how my partner and I live in Washington state. We are considering moving if we can't find community where were at, but would love to connect either way. You seem like you'd fit right in with us. i'll pm you. later
jaime
 
Posts: 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Sandra. We are part of a family friendly income-sharing community ecovillage in central Virginia. I'll PM you more
 
pioneer
Posts: 37
Location: Shepherdstown, WV
7
cattle chicken composting toilet dog duck food preservation homeschooling homestead kids rabbit wood heat
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Sandra,

Check out the post I made recently! Unschooling, NVC and family orientation are very important to us too! We really want some long-term partners.

https://permies.com/t/61385/Young-family-land-MD-WV

Sarah
 
If we don't do the shopping, we won't have anything for dinner. And I've invited this tiny ad:
One million tiny ads for $25
https://permies.com/t/94684/million-tiny-ads
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!