• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Nicole Alderman
  • Mike Haasl
  • Anne Miller
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • Pearl Sutton
  • paul wheaton
  • r ranson
stewards:
  • James Freyr
  • Devaka Cooray
  • Jocelyn Campbell
master gardeners:
  • Steve Thorn
gardeners:
  • Ash Jackson
  • thomas rubino
  • Jay Angler

Travel partner [in crime]?

 
Posts: 2
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all, I am a 21-year-old volunteer hopeful named Kirsten. I am just exploring the permie culture phenomenon in my venture to find a travel partner for a trip I am planning for late summer/early fall next year. I am hoping to find a nice farm/homestay to volunteer at (whether through WWOOF or HelpX, etc.) for about two weeks out of a month and the other two weeks to be spent traveling abroad in whichever region I settle for. I live in Oklahoma but will definitely be flying overseas to seek an opportunity such as this so anyone interested must be able to furnish their own plane ticket and possibly have a little extra savings for any miscellaneous expenses.

I'm sure I could manage alone but I would love to find someone to keep me company and help navigate on the way. Never hurts.

I am very open-minded to region and accommodations! I would love to go anywhere in Europe or Africa but South America would be a welcome suggestion too! I know there are volunteer/homestay opportunities practically everywhere. I'm just not trying to drop $2k on the plane ticket alone, if ya catch my drift.

I am planning on saving up for the next year or so in order to buy the plane ticket and make sure my finances are in order while I'm gone for the month.

A little more about me:
-I'm an atheist, so if that offends or disrupts your conscience, we probably wouldn't be a great match!
-I have visible tattoos on my arms and hands
-I'm straight and single lady (Blonde, 5'8", ~162 lbs. if you're curious? I dunno haha), not actively looking but always open-minded
-I have gone through two years of college but dropped out about a year and a half ago
-I know a few phrases in Arabic, French, and Spanish - so eager to learn more!
-I am interested in world history, anthropology, geopolitics, permaculture/gardening/sustainable energy/etc., hip-hop/funk/blues/metal/alternative/punk/disco/reggae/r&b/progrock/etc., and writing!

If you think we could coordinate something together through the WWOOF or HelpX programs, drop me a line and we'll chat! I'm willing to even meet up in the U.S. and travel together from there too!
 
Posts: 6
1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Kirsten, I am a 24 y.o. fellow atheist in roughly the same boat. I am from Dallas but live in LA and am actively seeking both internships and volunteer opportunities in the US and abroad (Currently thinking Latin America. Hablo un poco Espanol. Open to anywhere though I've never been to the Eastern Hemisphere).

I have been wanting to plan a similar kind of work/travel/learn experience but would prefer to have some like minded company. I am interested in all the same things you are and many more.

Feel free to email me I'd love to hear more about your plans:

Josh
josh.d.parris@gmail.com
 
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Kirsten, I want the exact same thing! I am 22 and finishing my undergrad in Chicago right now. I'll be graduating in May, and I'd like to immediately begin a PDC or embark on a permie-learning adventure through WWOOF, HelpX, or the opportunities around this forum. I agree that it would be lovely to have a like-minded friend with me, but permies are in short supply in my general area/acquaintance. I'm not incredibly picky about where I go, although I certainly have places in mind. The Pacific northwest, northeast, and well...all of Europe. Or anywhere, really!

I'm Danielle, by the way. If I had to identify as something, it would be a Buddhist atheist. So I think this could work

E-mail me! danee91@yahoo..com
 
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
I will be finishing up my undergraduate this May and if things don't materialize with my internship, I plan on traveling and wwoofing to gain some farming experience. I plan on traveling around July and would feel more comfortable traveling with someone for some stability. I actually might wwoof or try the helpx for maybe 6 months or so since I do want to gain enough knowledge to perhaps make this a lifestyle. I would not mind staying in the states or going overseas as I do want to visit South America and do some latin dancing!! If you would like to talk more feel free to pm, send an email to slowsweat@gmail.com, or add me on facebook: Jerry Chamnichanh.

About me:
22 year old male. I am bit spiritual (philosophically more so than practically).
 
Every time you till, you lose 30% of your organic matter. But this tiny ad is durable:
Learn Permaculture through a little hard work
https://wheaton-labs.com/bootcamp
reply
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic