Win a copy of Grocery Story this week in the City Repair forum!
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education experiences global resources the cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • r ranson
  • Nicole Alderman
  • Anne Miller
stewards:
  • Mike Jay
  • paul wheaton
  • Joseph Lofthouse
garden masters:
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • Steve Thorn
  • James Freyr
  • Greg Martin
  • Dave Burton
gardeners:
  • Carla Burke
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Dan Boone

Pennsylvania - Poly Family to learn to "perm" and more

 
Posts: 4
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
I'm a mother of 11.  I'm only 42, with 3 nesting partners... My oldest kids are over 18, there are still 7 at home full time.  I don't have a lot of experience in living off the grid/with the land.  It took this long for me to change my children's eating habits and learn the dangers of the way we're living.  I was so brainwashed.  Our lives were following the tech trend and my children were turning into zombies.  I have since eliminated handheld electronics and gaming systems for anything other than Netflix... which is still "evil".  I have started seeing the hell that's coming and I'm trying to change our lifestyle behaviors.  I want to spend more time in their faces, teaching them, than hearing about the drama they were exposed to at school.  We have raised beds in the back and some blackberries already planted and we're learning, but I feel like I am learning what the wheel is and I feel like I should at least know what the bicycle looks like, even if I'm far from riding.  

Right now I feel like I'm spinning my gears.  My time is spent chasing this bill and making sure I have enough hours at work.  On top of that, I'm keeping track of at least 4 younger kids' needs in regards to school, life, etc... The other 3 adults are my support.  I am essentially their matriarch and I delegate to them.  If it were not for them, I could not make it work.  I know what it is to understand diplomacy better than some, but I'm never too old to learn -anything anyone is willing to teach.

I have an incomplete nursing degree and a nuclear technology associates.  That won't help me on the land, but I'm hoping it does attest to a certain degree of intelligence and standard that I hold myself to.  I am very head strong and am also a self starter, but when it comes to something I don't understand, or need help with - I ask.  That's where all of you come in.  (Any interested in lending wisdom, skill, lending a hand, becoming a part of and/or boots in the right direction...)

I don't have money for land.  I'm not asking for money for land.  :) I would like to learn what I can do currently in my backyard to start teaching my children, every day and getting them into the habits of learning that life is best lived working on real rewards, not financial ones.  Teach me... ?  My dream is to homestead and homeschool.  In regards to not having land... I want to have been a good enough example that if we find others willing to have us... that we'll have made good changes to our lives and actually be a helpful addition, or theirs to ours... obviously.  If anyone is open to 4 adults, 7 to ? kids (long story, I'm a mom...), and dogs (I'm allergic to cats... respiratory distress for indoor cats)... please... feel free to message.  I would be willing to put in work, but that would mean 4 to 6 hour drive and maybe weekend trips.. I couldn't see roughing it with a 2 year old in the winter.  We do Pennsic just about every year and can handle some heat, but *I* am not an Ice Queen... Letting it go would involve a LOT of shivering!  (and maybe cussing - I live in PA, but grew up in Texas and still ain't quite acclimated...)

Suggestions, thoughts, offers, pokes, and interests welcome...  Thank you!!!

*anything personal would be appreciated privately

permieprofilepic.jpg
[Thumbnail for permieprofilepic.jpg]
permiesbuildingtudor.jpg
[Thumbnail for permiesbuildingtudor.jpg]
permietriohalloween2018.jpg
[Thumbnail for permietriohalloween2018.jpg]
 
Did Steve tell you that? Fuh - Steve. Just look at this tiny ad:
Solar Dehydrator Plans - Combo Package download
https://permies.com/t/solar-dehydrator
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!