Win a copy of Grocery Story this week in the City Repair forum!
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education experiences global resources the cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • r ranson
  • Nicole Alderman
  • Anne Miller
stewards:
  • Mike Jay
  • paul wheaton
  • Joseph Lofthouse
garden masters:
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • Steve Thorn
  • James Freyr
  • Greg Martin
  • Dave Burton
gardeners:
  • Carla Burke
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Dan Boone

heart's desires 30F

 
Posts: 2
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
In addition to being aligned completely in mind and heart with the journey of homesteading, I have these skills.

+Soil building/maintenance/vermiculture/permaculture

+A plan for biodynamic growing to provide food for my family and to sell

+I can grow 60 vegetables/fruits, and 20+ herbs

+I can grow, forage for herbal medicine, insect/disease control of crops

+Propagate, breed and save seed from all plants I grow

+Preserve by canning, dehydrating, fermenting and root cellaring, and dry meat

+Goat, chicken, turkey husbandry and feed management

+Greenhousing

+Beekeeping (I will learn more, right now I have a friend taking care of my bees)

+Educating children holistically

+Massage/reiki

+Musical Entertainment

+Water catchment/recycling

+Making cream/butter/soft cheese/ soap/candles

+Getting food from water

+I’m vegetarian who would butcher and eat my animals in a homestead situation

+Woodlot management for heat/goats

-Minimal (labor only) experience with orcharding, -have never grown grains or hay

+Experience living in winter, by myself, keeping a 2,000sq. foot home heated with 4 wood stoves

+Overwintering crops/taking care of animals in winter

+Training dogs as shepherds

+Making simple clothing and repairing them

+farm tool use/maintenance/repair

+fence and gate building/repair

+Cooking delicious, nutritious “peasant meals”

Simple things make me whole:
Rocket stove with cob bench
Sweet water creek or well
Awesome root cellar/harvest kitchen
Somewhere to be naked outside
A simple, woodfire-heated hot tub for 2
A food/seed storage area I can be anal about
A bed of lavender under my clothesline
Cooking oil??? Diatomaceous earth???
Great hiking/canoeing nearby
Full day’s productive work with time to cuddle and laugh at goats, and to marvel at huge or exceptionally forked carrots
Open, dark sky at night, peace and quiet from manmade noise
Lots of touching, togetherness, laughing together, and also my own responsibilities that my partner relies on me and vice versa
Land, plants, soil, animals, family, and community I can nurture and be nurtured by with a personal appreciation for the mystery and science about how they all work together.



DSC01021.JPG
[Thumbnail for DSC01021.JPG]
 
Posts: 10
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hello I just wanted to say hi. My name is Ronnie. I grew up raising chickens for eggs and meat. We always had the best garden in the area. I'm fairly new to permaculture but I can grow just about anything. I just built my first hugelkulture bed this year. I'm also raising 50 quail. I'm an avid outdoorsman who loves to hunt, fish, camp, hike, cut firewood, pick berries just about anything outdoors. My future plan is to sell my house and buy some cheap land and live off the grid. I also should mention my beautiful black lab Lucy who does everything with me. That's all i got for now.
1325002568423-(2).jpg
[Thumbnail for 1325002568423-(2).jpg]
 
Posts: 48
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Great List. We agree and on are the same path.

wanted to let you know about the project we are getting going. we are looking for potential members to connect with and eventually join our permaculture homestead. This year is our first year and we are: putting in a bike powered well, a cobwood house, a renewable energy system, and a twist and twang lumber drying/greenhouse/ living space. We are located about 30 miles NW of Olympia. We are going to try to do a workshop on cobwood with Rob Roy next year. Please contact us if you'd like to inquire, dialogue, visit, or take part in workshops.

steve
directory.ic.org/23389/Clear_Water_Sanctuary
clearwatersanctuary.weebly.com
 
Where all the women are strong, all the men are good looking and all the tiny ads are above average:
Dave Burton's Boot Adventures at Wheaton Labs and Basecamp
https://permies.com/t/119676/permaculture-projects/Dave-Burton-Boot-Adventures-Wheaton
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!