• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com pie forums private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • r ranson
  • Anne Miller
  • paul wheaton
stewards:
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Nicole Alderman
  • Beau M. Davidson
master gardeners:
  • Carla Burke
  • John F Dean
  • Nancy Reading
  • Jay Angler
  • Christopher Weeks
gardeners:
  • Jeremy VanGelder
  • Andrés Bernal
  • Cat Knight

27 yo male PDC post grad - seeking further experience, community, accomadations and/or paid work

 
Posts: 7
fungi greening the desert homestead
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Howdy  My name is Alex.  I am finishing up my permaculture design course and will have my certification at the end of August. My dream is to build an intentional community that is part permaculture homestead, part sanctuary/retreat for queer and other marginalized folk, or anyone who wants to live a simpler, happier life taking care of momma nature and eachother.  Thing is- I don't feel like I have all the skills or resources I need to realize that dream just yet.  I'm so grateful to have found this forum- and would love to hear from you if you have similar dreams and want to co create together, or if you know of any permaculture, farm management, or homesteading internships, jobs, work trade, etc.  

I am 27, physically fit, love to learn and work in the great outdoors, have a couple years of farm experience in various climates, and soon to have my permaculture design certificate.

A little about me, I love to grow things, care for animals, frolic in fields, sing, dance, hike, adventure, learn, and love. I have a tiny lil well-trained chihuahua named Tucker.  I am queer so an LGBTQ friendly environment is super important to me.  I am definitely a mountain guy but am open to different climates for the right fit.  Thanks so much for reading and I hope to hear from some other awesome permies, even just to be friends
 
Posts: 66
Location: Southern Oregon
4
kids books building
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Alex,
Depending on where you’re at and what you’re looking for, there might be something for you on my property in southern Oregon. You can look at some of my posts to learn more. They’re mostly still relevant. Good luck.
 
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Greetings,
Bought my property in 2010 intending to homestead and become more independent. Here we are and many (most) of my goals aren't met yet. We are an hour-ish south of Seattle, a couple miles off I-5, and right at the edge of town, 1.68 acres of rich soil and nestled between small neighborhood lots and a 90acre park.

I am 53, a single mom by choice, Neurodiverse, physically disabled, COPD, with memory issues, and BiPolar.  Lived up and down I-5 since 1980. Graduated from UW.  I've been adamantly independent since childhood and I'm not used to asking for help. But I need help.

My 20yo fledgling, Autistic, non-binary, Eagle Scout is helpful when working next to someone. My health has declined faster than I anticipated. I'm quite limited in the physical work, and when I don't work, neither do they.

In 2020, my neighbor and I founded Nautilus Guild to rebuild the community, regenerate this land, and feed each other. We have hosted cider pressing, camping, harvest parties, garden work parties, and more. We have several gardening areas, fruit trees, and lots of wildlife.

Plans for 2023 include:
~ spend a grant on water harvesting and rain garden
~ finishing the greenhouse by mounting it on skids and put on the roof
~ outdoor kitchen to host preservation workshops
~ add more accessibility; hard surface paths, raised beds, camping, solar shower
~ hosting others in a camping/work exchange.

I too would like to target historically overlooked folx and provide a safe place to heal and to grow, and share food and knowledge.

FB: NautilusGuildproject https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100085525268285
 
Today's lesson is that you can't wear a jetpack AND a cape. I should have read this tiny ad:
kickstarter is live now! Low Tech Laboratory 2!
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/paulwheaton/low-tech-0
reply
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic