Win a copy of Grocery Story this week in the City Repair forum!
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education experiences global resources the cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • r ranson
  • Nicole Alderman
  • Anne Miller
stewards:
  • Mike Jay
  • paul wheaton
  • Joseph Lofthouse
garden masters:
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • Steve Thorn
  • James Freyr
  • Greg Martin
  • Dave Burton
gardeners:
  • Carla Burke
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Dan Boone

A challenge for a pioneering woman

 
Posts: 363
Location: Abkhazia · temperate subtropical climate
29
cat forest garden trees solar wood heat woodworking
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Well… i am 27 and have just moved to Abkhazia. There is a small house, 1 ha garden and a cow to get started. There is even electricity (unless there isn't). My mother will live on the property as well (at least in summer), but really has to do other things than running a homestead.

About me … i did study physics a few years ago, but have since turned my interest to permaculture.
Figure: 180cm+a bit. A bit skinny, due to the stressful previous live. I hope to get at least some reserves soon. Long black hair (which turns out to be annoying with all the bugs around here … so that might be short black hair soon). Vegetarian.

What needs to be done:
- a new house needs to be build on the property including a proper kitchen…
- pump + pipe for drinking water (there are springs around, however below the house)
- garden has to be done from scratch
- the village needs a school
- a reliable and fast internet connection (I have some ideas)
- find a way to turn the tourism here into something positive
- setting up a 10kW solar power to run a sawmill. (There are many trees that have to be taken down and I don't want them to all end as firewood. Also mixing cob by hand gets boring pretty quick.)

What I can do:
- build and repair stuff.
- work with clay and wood (hopefully metal and glass soon as well)
- make edible stuff (with or without heat)
- write computer programs
- teach
- photography (given some free time)
- forget what I can do

What I can't do (good):
- household…
- painting (as in art)
- extract money from others
- multitask
- maintain a garden
- medicine
- videos
- writing this kind of stuff

Who I am looking for:
- A woman, possibly a bit younger than me who is not afraid to get her hands dirty – seriously, there is a lot of work and I can't do it all myself.
- Bonus points for an artistic side. More bonus points knowing a trade.
- A person I can trust. I don't need to know everything. But I don't want to be lied to. (I don't lie in principle. But I reserve the right not to answer a question.)
- An independent woman. If I have to leave for a week to work elsewhere, it is not the end of the world. (Similarly, if she has to go for a while this is not the end of the world). (This means knowing at least the critical technical stuff.)

Who I am not looking for:
- A city dweller. Sukhumi is 90min away by car and the ride is anything but relaxing. I have not tried a horse for that yet. A bicycle does work.
- A person who likes/wants to control others.
- A person who wants to be controlled. (I have no time or interest for that.)
- A missionary. I don't have a particular religion and I am not interested in joining one.
- Someone who is really unorganized or does not think ahead. Living here requires to plan ahead of time, or you end up with no food and no way to get some.

Oh there is another catch: In the culture common here (not the original one) woman don't have too many rights. There will be the challenge of carefully showing that it can be done on equal levels as well (and that both benefit from it). Just … something to be aware of.


Please ask for missing details… I am sure I forgot plenty.
 
gardener & bricolagier
Posts: 2628
Location: SW Missouri
779
goat cat fungi books chicken earthworks food preservation cooking building homestead ungarbage
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Sebastian :)
Hope you find the lady of your dreams soon!
 
pollinator
Posts: 285
Location: North Carolina, USA Zone 7b
56
forest garden books chicken food preservation wood heat woodworking homestead
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Sebastian I am not your girl (64 years old and VERY American,  haha) but felt compelled to comment.   I had to google Abkhazia as I've never heard of it.   It looks like a beautiful country with amazing history and architecture,  but as you mentioned a "previous stressful life" I guess that was the war and you have many challenges ahead.  I am impressed with your motivation to reconstruct and resourcefulness.   I love that you have a cow and are carefully thinking through your strengths and weaknesses and strategies to improve your community.    Maybe I'm presuming too much.   But the reason I am writing is to encourage you to keep writing!   You say you are not good at it but you have a compelling story to tell.   I imagine finding a girl from western regions will be difficult, but perhaps through chronicling your adventures, someone will be intrigued -  become a pen pal, fall in love.....

My suggestion is to start a Youtube channel, blog, facebook page, and keep coming back here.   Show us pictures.   Tell us about your daily life.  Introduce us to your mother.   If you're a teacher you can do this, and it will open your world to countless people and support.

Best wishes to you!  You come across as a strong, kind soul.
 
Sebastian Köln
Posts: 363
Location: Abkhazia · temperate subtropical climate
29
cat forest garden trees solar wood heat woodworking
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Oh the "stressful live" was referring to Germany. I could go into details, but that is cider press material. Although the war has definitely left its mark on the people here.
A youtube-channel is not going to happen unless someone who loves doing videos and story telling comes along. I am bad at both, and from the few channels I watch, I know how much work they spend on their videos. I don't have that much spare time at the moment.
A blog might work… Susan, thank you for the idea.

For now, I managed to complete oven that I previously deconstructed because of the low heat output. The new one is already better, even though it is still a bit wet and the rocket part isn't working (yet).
DSC_5565.jpg
[Thumbnail for DSC_5565.jpg]
One mountain view at sunset. Not a good photo from a technical perspective, but still…
 
Does this tiny ad smell okay to you?
Dave Burton's Boot Adventures at Wheaton Labs and Basecamp
https://permies.com/t/119676/permaculture-projects/Dave-Burton-Boot-Adventures-Wheaton
  • Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
Boost this thread!